Tree of Souls: The Mythology of Judaism by Schwartz, Howard"Schwartz notes in his impressive introduction that some may be surprised at the idea of a Jewish mythology since Judaism is a monotheistic religion, meaning there can be no interaction among multiple gods, one of the hallmarks of mythology. Yet the Bible, Schwartz notes, is written so compactly that there is plenty of room for interpretation, and out of interpretation, mythology flowers." --Ilene Cooper, Booklist
Call Number: BM530 .S472 2007
Hanukkah in America by Dianne AshtonIn New Orleans, Hanukkah means decorating your door with a menorah made of hominy grits. Latkes in Texas are seasoned with cilantro and cayenne pepper. Children in Cincinnati sing Hanukkah songs and eat oranges and ice cream. While each tradition springs from its own unique set of cultural references, what ties them together is that they all celebrate a holiday that is different in America than it is any place else.
Call Number: BM695.H3 A84 2013
Coming of Age in Jewish America by Patricia Keer MunroThe Jewish practice of bar mitzvah dates back to the twelfth century, but this ancient cultural ritual has changed radically since then, evolving with the times and adapting to local conditions. For many Jewish-American families, a child's bar mitzvah or bat mitzvah is both a major social event and a symbolic means of asserting the family's ongoing connection to the core values of Judaism.
Call Number: BM707 .M86 2016
The Jewish Americans by Carlisle, Rodney P.Judaism is considered by many to be both an ethnicity and a religion. This dual relationship has made Jews in America distinct from other minority groups. From the colonial period to the late 20th and early 21st century, waves of immigrant Jews have influenced the practice and overall identity of the American Jewish community based on the places from which they came. Today, Israel's policy of automatically granting Jews around the world dual citizenship has created a strong tie to that country and further complicated the intricate relationship American Jews have with America.
Jews and Baseball by Boxerman, Burton AlanTraces the arc of Jews in baseball after Hank Greenberg retired in 1948. During this post-war period, Jews saw greater acceptance into the American mainstream as organized anti-Semitism was largely displaced by greater affluence, education, and a more geographically dispersed Jewish community. Jews continued to flourish in baseball - new stars like Al Rosen, Sandy Koufax and Shawn Green debuted. This book further demonstrates how and why Jews and baseball have continued to grow together.
"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Jewish Americans who have helped form the fabric of American history, culture and society."
Interesting essay about "heritage months" in general. “At best, ethnic heritage months increase awareness for a finite amount of time,” said Jason Low, a publisher focused on books promoting diversity who has written on the issue. “Once the month has ended, the very problem that the given heritage month was designed to address resets itself, and ‘those books’ are put away and ignored for another year.”
Full Text: 09/01/1990 to present
"Presents articles dealing with current events, with an emphasis on politics, social science and culture, with special interest in Jewish affairs."
Jewish Quarterly Review
Full Text: 07/01/2002 to present
"The oldest English-Language journal in the field of Jewish studies. In JQR the ancient stands alongisde the modern, the historical alongside the literary, the past alongside the present."
Jewish Social Studies
Full Text: 01/01/1975 to present
"Scientific research directed by recognized specialists on contemporary and historical aspects of Jewish life aimed at fostering a better understanding of the position of the Jews in the modern world."
Full Text: 01/01/2000 to present
"A Jewish critique of politics, culture & society."
Founded in 1947 and located on the Cincinnati campus of Hebrew Union College, the Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives is committed 'to preserving a documentary heritage of the religious, organizational, economic, cultural, personal, social and family life of American Jewry,' according to their web site ". --PBS.org
"Nearly 165 years ago, Henry Jones and 11 other German-Jewish immigrants gathered in Sinsheimer's Café on New York's Lower East Side to confront what Isaac Rosenbourg, one of B'nai B'rith's founders, called "the deplorable condition of Jews in this, our newly adopted country.
Thus, B'nai B'rith (children of the covenant) was born.
B'nai B'rith International has not moved far from its roots, but rather allowed these roots to grow in more than 50 countries worldwide. No other Jewish organization can point to a longer, more all-encompassing history of service to Jews and all people around the world."
"The Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life (ISJL) is dedicated to providing educational and rabbinic services to isolated Jewish communities, documenting and preserving the rich history of the Southern Jewish experience, and promoting a Jewish cultural presence throughout a twelve-state region." --PBS.org
"The National Museum of American Jewish Military History, under the auspices of the Jewish War Veterans of the USA, documents and preserves the contributions of Jewish Americans to the peace and freedom of the United States, educates the public concerning the courage, heroism and sacrifices made by Jewish Americans who served in the armed forces, and works to combat anti-Semitism."
"We are building a bigger tent for nonbinary Jews through a third-gender grammar systematics for Hebrew, guided by our Torah and Talmud that teach us to rejoice that which cannot be neatly categorized."
"The Austin Jewish community, like the general community, has experienced enormous growth in the last 20 years. Although a demographic study has not been done, the estimated number of Jewish people in the Austin area is 15,000-18,000. The population of Austin doubles every twenty years, and Jewish Austin expects to continue following the same trend. This is unique, compared to most Jewish communities which are well-established or even shrinking in size. While the epicenter of the Jewish community is in Northwest Austin, the Jewish community is sprawling like the general community south of the river in Circle C Ranch, Western Oaks, and Travis Heights, and north in Georgetown, Round Rock and Cedar Park."
The society "was founded in 1991 as a multi-disciplinary academic and secular association that fosters research, networking of people and ideas, and the exchange of information, among scholars and descendants of conversos, regarding the historical and contemporary developments involving crypto-Jews of Iberian origins in the Americas, and other hidden Jewish communities around the world."
"The purpose of the Society shall be to collect, preserve, publish and disseminate materials having reference to the settlement and history of Jews in Texas and their participation in its social, economic, religious, political, professional and cultural growth."
"The central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry, the Data Bank’s primary functions are to (1) acquire, archive, and disseminate quantitative data sets and reports, both contemporary and historical and (2) encourage utilization of the archive through training and provide information about methods for studying Jewish communities." --PBS.org
Surveys, datasets, and a complete report are linked to this article.
Streaming Media | Films | Documentaries
America's First Synagogues"Tells the story of the Jewish pilgrims who founded Congregation Shearith Israel-a 'Remnant of Israel'-in 1654 in the Dutch trading post of New Amsterdam, modern day New York City. Touro Synagogue in Newport, RI, built in 1763, is the oldest continual Jewish house of worship in the U.S. Viewers will also learn about the history of Sephardic Jews who fled to the New World to escape the Spanish Inquisition...."
Call Number: Streaming Video - Films on Demand
A Life Apart: Hasidism in America by Daum, M. Rudavsky, O. (Director).With their use of the Yiddish language, their distinctive clothes and their strict observance to Jewish ritual and law, the Hasidim are considered by many an insular people with little connection to mainstream America. And yet their values are those that many Americans find most precious: family, community and a life of meaning.