According to the UC Davis Department of History page, "Only a small percentage of history majors become professional historians. ... Leaders in every industry, from business to the arts, can point to their training as history majors as the starting point for their success." Includes a list of skills gained from studying history and a list of famous history majors.
The Career Center provides information about jobs in public history, such as in museums, national and local historical institutions, and historical societies. You can browse history and museum internships from all over the country and view job postings.
Select Communities on the menu to read about AASLH Affinity Communities such as Corporate History "for professionals within corporations or corporate museums who collect and interpret history or use history to market corporations," Legal History, Educators & Interpreters, Emerging History Professionals (EHP), Field Services Alliance (FSA), the AASLH Military History Committee, the Women’s History Affinity Group, the Religious History Affinity Group, the Small Museums Community, and more.
"Archivists appraise, process, catalog, and preserve permanent records and historically valuable documents. Curators oversee collections of artwork and historic items, and may conduct public service activities for an institution. Museum technicians and conservators prepare and restore objects and documents in museum collections and exhibits."
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17 Edition, Archivists, Curators, and Museum Workers, on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/curators-museum-technicians-and-conservators.htm (visited April 27, 2016).
"...a brief list of the career opportunities, based on an update of the pamphlet, Careers for Students of History, written by Barbara J. Howe and jointly published by the American Historical Association and the National Council on Public History."
CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field--including knowledge of historical events and their causes, indicators, and effects on civilizations and cultures--generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17 Edition, Historians,
on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/life-physical-and-social-science/historians.htm (visited April 26, 2016).
Occupation description from CareerOneStop: "Research, analyze, record, and interpret the past as recorded in sources: government and institutional records, newspapers and other periodicals, photographs, interviews, films, electronic media, and unpublished manuscripts, such as personal diaries and letters."
CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, provides a career video, "Educational Teachers, Postsecondary," lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field, generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.
"Interpretive and cultural park rangers... help visitors understand and gain an appreciation, which ... advances a park’s mission of protection... [allowing] visitors to see the relevance in the message and importance of the parks they visit. This may include providing interpretive services for: historic sites, historic monuments, wildlife refuges, environmental havens, archeologically significant sites, [and] recreational areas."
CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field, provides a career video, "Museum Technicians and Conservators," generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.
There are several Centers with tutorials, videos, and e-books. Job & Career Accelerator sections cover occupations, finding a job, resumes and cover letters, applying and interviewing. Learning Express (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account to access the content. You will also find this database at public libraries.
Career Path: Most museums require a master's degree in an appropriate discipline such as art, history, or natural science, or in museum studies, in addition to practical experience through internships or entry-level museum positions.
Career Path: Volunteering with a local organization is a good way to gain experience and make contacts. Certificates or associate degrees in subjects such as social work, human services, gerontology, or one of the social or behavioral sciences meet most employers' requirements. A bachelor’s degree is usually required for advancement. Most paid executive directors in large organizations have graduate degrees, often in business or public administration, some specifically in nonprofit management.
Career Path: Many enter the occupation with a bachelor’s degree in social work, urban studies, public administration and psychology, as well as other majors. Many employers require a master’s degree in a related field, and supplemental field-specific training and volunteer work.
This playlist "is a web series that answers some of the questions people have about where historians work and what they do. Each month, a different historian will sit down to talk about what they do, how they got their job, what makes their job interesting or challenging, and what they love about their work."