LibGuides: Sociology: Finding Articles

Library Resources Quick Search

Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.

Catalog Search Help

You can search all of the library's resources in one place from one search box. Books, ebooks, streaming videos, articles, DVDs...they're all searchable from the Library Home Page or the Search Tool. After you get results note that they are displayed on two tabs: [ Books, movies, and music ] [ Journals, magazines, news ]

Search operators can be used within the Basic Search:

AND = type more than one word
united states race
Note: AND is implied; don't type it in.
NOT = use minus sign (-)
minorities -race
Quote (exact phrase) Search = use quote marks around the phrase
"civil rights"

Journal Article Databases

ACC Libraries have more than 90 journal/magazine article databases. Here, I list the most useful ones for research on Sociology and Social Work. (See a complete list of ACC Library Databases by Subject or by Title.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multydisciplinary Database provided by EBSCO. Contains articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers. It also contains an image collection (top right, on green bar). To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID.
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
In addition to access to articles from the Opposing Viewpoints series, this electronic resource contains scholarly articles, primary source materials and statistics on a number of social and political issues. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This resource offers weekly reports on current social and political issues. The reports generally have a general overview, statistics, case studies, examples of opposing viewpoints on the issue, possible solutions, and a bibliography. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
In-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Reports from 1991 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources. It includes 150+ Sociology journal titles. Hint: Try selecting "Advanced Search," scroll down to "Narrow by Discipline" and select > Sociology. Then enter keywords in the search box. This will limit your search ONLY to the Sociology journals. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Bibliographic database covering areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles on topics in psychiatry, psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
Articles on topics in psychiatry, psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of relevance to the discipline.

What's an article and how do I find one?

To learn more about what a periodical article is and how to find one, take our Finding Articles tutorial!

Sociology: Finding Articles

Library Resources Quick Search

Catalog Search Help

Journal Article Databases

What's an article and how do I find one?

Latest Articles from Social Science Quarterly

Latest Articles from Diverse: Issues in Higher Education