LibGuides: Architectural & Engineering Computer Aided Design: Find Reference Works

What are reference works?

One way to think about reference works is that they are publications that researchers "refer" to rather than read cover-to-cover (most of the time).

Common types of reference materials include:

encyclopedias
almanacs
bibliographies
dictionaries
directories
guidebooks
handbooks
indexes
manuals
yearbooks

Reference works are all about the big picture. They are helpful for finding:

definitions
formulas
codes
standards
topic overviews
background information
career information

Reference Works @ ACC Libraries

Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture by Ernest Burden
Call Number: NA31 .B83 2012
ISBN: 9780071772938
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Revised and expanded, the "Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture," Third Edition, features 8,000 definitions, 4,000 illustrations, and biographies of hundreds of architects accompanied by classic examples of their work.
The Elements of Style by Elizabeth Cromley (Editor)
Call Number: NA2850 .E44 2012
ISBN: 9781770850866
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
The Elements of Style is the most comprehensive visual survey, period by period, feature by feature, of the key styles in American and British domestic architecture from the Tudor period to present day.
Machinery's Handbook, 30th Edition by Erik Oberg
Call Number: TJ151 .O245 2016
ISBN: 9780831130916
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world.
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice (15th ed.) by American Institute of Architects Staff
Call Number: [SAC Library] NA1996 .A726 2014
ISBN: 9781118308820
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
*paper copy* Authored by The American Institute of Architects (AIA), this guide is the updated architecture professional standard on practice issues. This indispensable resource covers all aspects of architectural practice, including legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative issues.
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice (15th ed.) by American Institute of Architects
Call Number: [ebook]
ISBN: 9781118667132
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
*ebook edition* Authored by The American Institute of Architects (AIA), this guide is the updated architecture professional standard on practice issues. This indispensable resource covers all aspects of architectural practice, including legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative issues.