LibGuides: Government: Finding Articles

Library Resources Quick Search

Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.

Catalog Search Help

You can search all of the library's resources in one place from one search box. Books, ebooks, streaming videos, articles, DVDs...they're all searchable from the Library Home Page or the Search Tool. After you get results note that they are displayed on two tabs: [ Books, movies, and music ] [ Journals, magazines, news ]

Search operators can be used within the Basic Search:

AND = type more than one word
texas government
Note: AND is implied; don't type it in.
NOT = use minus sign (-)
texas house -senate
Quote (exact phrase) Search = use quote marks around the phrase
"tax reform"

Journal Article Electronic Resources

ACC Libraries have more than 90 journal/magazine article databases. Here, I list the most useful ones for research on Government. (See a complete list of ACC Library Databases by Subject or by Title.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary electronic resource provided by EBSCO. Contains articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers. It also contains an image collection (top right, on green bar). To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
In addition to access to articles from the Opposing Viewpoints series, this electronic resource contains scholarly articles, primary source materials and statistics on a number of social and political issues. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Unbiased coverage of "hot" topics in health, international affairs, the environment, the economy and more. Each report includes background information, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
In-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Reports from 1991 - present.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
This electronic resource provided by Ebsco contains articles from over 500 military and general interest publications.
Articles and current news on U.S. and world military and government affairs.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
American History This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on most topics including business, health, education, science, and social issues. To access this electronic resource from an off-campus location you will need your ACCeID. If you have not set-up your ACCeID, go to the ACCeID Help Page.
Articles on most topics including business, health, education, science, and social issues.

What's an article and how do I find one?

To learn more about what a periodical article is and how to find one, take our Finding Articles tutorial!

Government: Finding Articles

Library Resources Quick Search

Catalog Search Help

Journal Article Electronic Resources

What's an article and how do I find one?

Recent Articles from the New York Times