LibGuides: Professional Nursing: Articles

Articles from CINAHL

Check out these recent articles about associate degree nursing available through CINAHL. Clicking the links will take you to the full-text of the article in the CINAHL Ultimate database.

Unsure how to find articles?

Try our video tutorial on Finding Articles or explore our Finding Periodical Articles Library Guide.

Journal Article Indexes

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The first database you should look at for nursing articles.
Articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, newsletters, standards of practice, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

Looking for articles, especially scholarly articles? Try searching the e-resources below for your topic. No single resource will have all the articles on your topic so be sure to try more than one.

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
An excellent database to use for nursing and general health science articles. Many general medical journals can be found full-text in this database.
Articles from scholarly journals focusing on the medical disciplines.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as nursing, nutrition, family health, and alternative medicine. Great source for consumer information for the general public.
Articles from peer-reviewed journals, videos of medical procedures and live surgeries, and topic overviews.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Follow this link to search the PubMed database from the National Library of Medicine. Filters on the right of the results screen allow you to limit to articles available through ACC, either online or in print, and by other criteria.
Searches Medline, and includes content from journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health.Limit your search to materials available through ACC, either in print or online, by clicking on the filters.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This version can be limited to full-text only, but will not indicate if we have the print versions in the library.
Articles from biomedical journals maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Note: Please see Pubmed below to go directly to the NLM government link if you want to use ACC filters. (Limit your search to materials available through ACC, either in print or online, by clicking on the filters, like the filter for Nursing Journals or EMS journals.)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A good place to look if you're not sure where to start. An academic multi-disciplinary database with full text for nearly 9000 journals, including full text for more than 7800 peer-reviewed titles.
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.

Nursing Open Access Article Search

Beware of Predatory Journals!

Journals that don't adhere to normal editorial and peer-review standards are known as predatory journals. They usually don't appear in databases like CINAHL, but they may appear in open access journal directories and repositories like PubMed Central. Look for journals that only publish 1 to 3 years, or which claim to indexed in databases like CINAHL and Medline, but aren't. Find out more about predatory nursing journals here:

Edie, A. H., & Conklin, J. L. (2019). Avoiding predatory journals: Quick peer review processes too good to be true. Nursing Forum. https://doi.org/10.1111/nuf.12333

Oermann, M. H., Conklin, J. L., Nicoll, L. H., Chinn, P. L., Ashton, K. S., Edie, A. H., … Budinger, S. C. (2016). Study of predatory open access nursing journals. Journal Of Nursing Scholarship: An Official Publication Of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society Of Nursing, 48(6), 624–632. https://doi.org/10.1111/jnu.12248

Oermann, M. H., Ingles, T. M., Nicoll, L. H., Carter-Templeton, H., Woodward, A., Kidayi, P. L., ... & Amarasekara, S. (2019). Citations of articles in predatory nursing journals. Nursing Outlook.