LibGuides: Economics: Find Books

Tutorial--Finding Books

If you'd like some extra help with finding books and e-books, try this short online tutorial.

This module is designed to take about 10 minutes to complete and includes lots of examples and some interactive practice.

Search Strategies

Here are some examples of search strategies for Economics. Try:

macroeconomics
microeconomics

but if you don't find what you're looking for, try a broader term like

economics

Browse the Stacks

Materials in our libraries are shelved according to the LC Classification system.

Common call numbers for this subject are:

HB (economic theory and demography)
HC (economic history and conditions)
HD (industries, land use, labor)
HF (commerce)
HG (finance)
HJ (public finance)

You can browse the library stacks or search the library catalog by call number.

Reference Works

21st Century Economics by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961424
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
Includes summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, with introductions to relevant theory and empirical evidence. Models have been presented only in graphical format (minimal calculus).
A Dictionary of Economics by John Black; Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth D. Myles
ISBN: 9780199237050
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
Covers all aspects of economics including economic theory as well as applied micro and macroeconomics, such as labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetaryeconomics, environmental economics, and many others. Strong coverage of international trade as well as economic organisations and institutions from around the world.
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics by Thomas Cate (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849801720
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
Presents concise biographies of economists who have contributed to the debate on Keynes and the Keynesian Revolution, and outlines the basic principles, models and tools used to discuss the economic consequences of The General Theory.
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics by Graham Bannock; R. E. Baxter; Evan Davis
ISBN: 9780141045238
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Explains a host of economic terms, from acceleration principle to venture capital, Euro to X-efficiency, globalisation to zero-sum game.

What's New?

Economics in Two Lessons by John Quiggin
ISBN: 9780691186108
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
In Economics in Two Lessons, John Quiggin offers an introduction to the key ideas behind the successes--and failures--of free markets and explains why market prices often fail to reflect the full cost of our choices to society as a whole.
Love, Money, and Parenting by Matthias Doepke; Fabrizio Zilibotti
ISBN: 9780691184210
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
An international and historical look at how parenting choices change in the face of economic inequality. Investigates how economic forces and growing inequality shape how parents raise their children.
Trusting Nudges by Cass R. Sunstein; Lucia A. Reisch
ISBN: 9780429837326
Publication Date: 2019-01-03
Drawing on surveys from numerous nations around the world, Sunstein and Reisch explore whether citizens approve of nudge policies. Their most important finding is that in diverse countries, both democratic and nondemocratic, strong majorities approve of nudges designed to promote health, safety, and environmental protection--and their approval cuts across political divisions.
Economics by Sean Masaki Flynn
ISBN: 9781119476276
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Learn about good markets, bad monopolies, and inflation. Decode budget deficits and trade gains and understand the science of wealth and prosperity.
Economics for the Many by John McDonnell
ISBN: 9781788732239
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Covers topics from housing, public ownership, and fairer international trading systems to industrial policy for the twenty-first century and how to tackle tax avoidance and regional imbalances. Together, the essays in this volume lay out a vision for a new economics, one that works for the many, not the few.
Clean Energy by Kathryn Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 9781534503854
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
This volume looks at the various alternative energy sources and their economic viability, exploring the debate about which path forward makes the most sense. Readers will gain a better understanding of the crossroads facing policymakers and the energy sector and be empowered to form their own opinions about how this urgent issue should be addressed.
Adam Smith by Jesse Norman
ISBN: 9780465061976
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
Political philosopher Jesse Norman offers a highly engaging account of Smith's life and times, explores his work as a whole and traces his influence over two centuries to the present day. The Smith who emerges from this book is not only the greatest of all economists but a pioneering theorist of moral philosophy, culture, and society.
Economics in Perspective by John Kenneth Galbraith; Richard Parker (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781400889075
Publication Date: 2017-08-29
In Economics in Perspective, renowned economist John Kenneth Galbraith presents a compelling and accessible history of economic ideas, from Aristotle through the twentieth century.
Economics for the Common Good by Jean Tirole; Steven Rendall (Translator)
ISBN: 9781400889143
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Tirole shares his insights on a broad array of questions affecting our everyday lives and the future of our society, including global warming, unemployment, the post-2008 global financial order, the euro crisis, the digital revolution, innovation, and the proper balance between the free market and regulation.
Healthcare Economics Made Easy by Daniel Jackson
ISBN: 9781907904974
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
This new edition builds on the success of the first edition by adding new chapters which provide a comparison across several western economies, as well as a consideration of the US healthcare system.
A Little History of Economics by Niall Kishtainy
ISBN: 9780300206364
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Economic historian Niall Kishtainy organizes short, chronological chapters that center on big ideas and events. He recounts the contributions of key thinkers including Adam Smith, David Ricardo, Karl Marx, John Maynard Keynes, and others, while examining topics ranging from the invention of money and the rise of agrarianism to the Great Depression, entrepreneurship, environmental destruction, inequality, and behavioral economics.

Reference Titles

21st Century Economics by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961424
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
Includes summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, with introductions to relevant theory and empirical evidence. Models have been presented only in graphical format (minimal calculus).
A Dictionary of Economics by John Black; Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth D. Myles
ISBN: 9780199237050
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
Covers all aspects of economics including economic theory as well as applied micro and macroeconomics, such as labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetaryeconomics, environmental economics, and many others. Strong coverage of international trade as well as economic organisations and institutions from around the world.
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics by Thomas Cate (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849801720
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
Presents concise biographies of economists who have contributed to the debate on Keynes and the Keynesian Revolution, and outlines the basic principles, models and tools used to discuss the economic consequences of The General Theory.
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics by Graham Bannock; R. E. Baxter; Evan Davis
ISBN: 9780141045238
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Explains a host of economic terms, from acceleration principle to venture capital, Euro to X-efficiency, globalisation to zero-sum game.