LibGuides: Sonography: Finding Articles

Articles from JDMS

Some recent artciles from the Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, available through the Health Reference Center Academic database.

Unsure how to find articles?

Try our video tutorial on Finding Articles or explore our Finding Periodical Articles Library Guide.

Journal Article Indexes

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database covers hundreds of health science articles in medicine and allied health. The search interface is almost identical to CINAHL's.
Articles from scholarly journals focusing on the medical disciplines.

Looking for articles, especially scholarly articles? Try searching the e-resources below for your topic. No single resource will have all the articles on your topic so be sure to try more than one.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as nursing, nutrition, family health, and alternative medicine. Great source for consumer information for the general public.
Articles from peer-reviewed journals, videos of medical procedures and live surgeries, and topic overviews.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This is the premier index for allied health literature.
Articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, newsletters, standards of practice, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Follow this link to search the PubMed database from the National Library of Medicine. Filters on the right of the results screen allow you to limit to articles available through ACC, either online or in print, and by other criteria.
Searches Medline, and includes content from journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health.Limit your search to materials available through ACC, either in print or online, by clicking on the filters.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This version can be limited to full-text only, but will not indicate if we have the print versions in the library.
Articles from biomedical journals maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Note: Please see Pubmed below to go directly to the NLM government link if you want to use ACC filters. (Limit your search to materials available through ACC, either in print or online, by clicking on the filters, like the filter for Nursing Journals or EMS journals.)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A good place to look if you're not sure where to start. An academic multi-disciplinary database with full text for nearly 9000 journals, including full text for more than 7800 peer-reviewed titles.
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.

Keywords for Sonography

Most books concerning sonography are kept in the library at the Eastview Campus. A catalog search (see the box to the left) is the best way to search for books on sonography, but if you want to browse the shelves, most sonography materials can be found under the call number WN (Radiology, Diagnostic Imaging). However, ultrasound is used to identify and treat pathologies in several body systems (circulatory, urinary, etc.), so it 's best to use the catalog for a thorough search.

Hint: use an asterisk (*) or two to expand your book and article searches:

diagnostic imaging
sonogra*
(sonogram, sonography)
ultraso**
(ultrasonic, ultrasound, ultrasonography)
vascular