LibGuides: Librarianship: Teaching & Learning

Presentation tools

Haiku Deck
Easy way to create presentations on the web, iPad, or iPhone.
Prezi
Creative alternative to PowerPoint. Know for it's imaginative transitions.
Apache OpenOffice Impress
Free and open productivity software.
Zoho Show
Collaborate, publish, broadcast. Use with Android, Apple and compatible with PowerPoint.
Canva

GAAILS 2021

Greater Austin Area Information Literacy Symposium Presentation Materials

Highlights-

Sparking interest: Using Adobe Spark, Canvas, and Active Learning Strategies to Boost Participation in a First Year Writing Information Literacy Instruction Partnership
Amy James - Director of Instruction and Information Literacy, Baylor University

An Introduction to the Hip Hop Libguide
kYmberly Keeton, African American Community Archivist, Austin History Center

Let's Talk About Moving Instruction Online!
Gwendolyn “Wendy” Thompson, Instruction Librarian, Texas State University, Round Rock
Tricia Boucher, User Experience Librarian, Texas State University, San Marcos
Vija G. Mendelson, Reference Librarian, Austin Public Library
Donna Dean, Information & Undergraduate Services Assistant, Texas State University, San Marcos
Jodi Brown, Collection Development Librarian, Texas State University, San Marcos

Meeting the Needs of Students Through Virtual Reading Rooms
Linda Kay, Librarian, Ridgeview Middle School, Round Rock ISD
Amy Lott, Librarian, Pearson Ranch Middle School, Round Rock ISD
Laura Stiles, Librarian, Canyon Vista Middle School, Round Rock ISD

GAAILS 2020

Greater Austin Area Information Literacy Symposium 2020 Session Information/Presentation Materials
Highlights-
Librarians Engagement with OER: A Community College Perspective
New Texas School Library Standards Meet the ACRL Information Literacy Framework
Better Together in Elgin: ECHS and ACC Libraries
Student Learning Outcomes Across the Library Spectrum
How to Lie with Data
Interactive Media Bias Chart
Research is iterative: Go Fish for Topic Development

Educause Learning Initiative

Learning and Student Success: Presenting the Results of the 2019 Key Issues Survey

The EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative (ELI) continues its annual Key Issues in Teaching and Learning survey. We have tallied the results for 2019 and are pleased to present them to the community. Our Key Issues web page is now fully updated and ready for review.

Presenting the most significant issues, by the numbers: For those interested in exploring our longitudinal data, we have also updated the spreadsheet that contains all Key Issues survey results from 2011 through this year. This spreadsheet now contains two tabs: the first tab lists the overall rankings for each year, and the second tab lists the demographic information of the respondents. (Note: We began collecting demographic information in 2017, so this second tab presents results for the years 2017–19.)

(Malcolm Brown, Director of Learning Initiatives at EDUCAUSE)

Collaboration Tools

SLACK
Works with Google docs, searchable, and has a chat feature.
Padlet
Create boards, document, web pages that everyone can contribute to.
Realtime Board
Simple whiteboarding platform for cross-funtional team collaboration.

eBooks

Engaging Ideas by John C. Bean; Dan Melzer
ISBN: 9781119705413
Publication Date: 2021-05-26
Use your course's big ideas to accelerate students' growth as writers and critical thinkers The newly revised third edition of Engaging Ideas delivers a step-by-step guide for designing writing assignments and critical thinking activities that engage students with important subject-matter questions.
Library Services for Online Patrons: a Manual for Facilitating Access, Learning, and Engagement by Joelle E. Pitts (Editor); Laura Bonella (Editor); Jason M. Coleman (Editor); Adam Wathen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440859533
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
This practical and holistic approach to offering library resources and services to online patrons addresses multiple areas of service to online patrons, including reference, instruction, access, and marketing.

VCU Libraries Faculty and Staff Publications

Pedagogy for Librarians

Megan Hodge

mlhodge@gmail.com

Most librarians are required to take classes on reference, collection development, and information organization in library school; courses on pedagogy, on the other hand, are usually optional, if they’re offered at all. This leads most librarians who end up with instruction duties to learn on the job. Activities and assessments can be learned on the fly fairly easily, but these often have little to no bearing on how much students actually absorb and recall weeks later because alone, they are usually insufficient to ensure deep learning. This chapter seeks to add the basics of pedagogy, a subject comprehensively covered in K-12 teacher preparation programs, to the librarian’s instructional repertoire.

Assessment

CATS You Can Use
Handout of various classroom assessment techniques you can apply in the classroom.

RAILS
Rubric Assessment of Information Literacy Skills
Google Forms in Library Instruction: Creating an Active Learning Space and Communicating with Students

Books in Print

How Humans Learn by Joshua Eyler
ISBN: 9781946684653
Publication Date: 2018-11-19
Even on good days, teaching is a challenging profession. One way to make the job of college instructors easier, however, is to know more about the ways students learn. How Humans Learn aims to do just that by peering behind the curtain and surveying research in fields as diverse as developmental psychology, anthropology, and cognitive neuroscience for insight into the science behind learning.
The Indispensable Academic Librarian by Michelle Reale
ISBN: 9780838916384
Publication Date: 2018-03-16
Traditionally, academic librarians have delivered "beck and call" service to educators both in and out of the classroom. However, far from being merely auxiliary to the learning cycle, academic librarians are educators in their own right. If the primary challenge before them is to change how they're perceived within their institutions, Reale proposes, the key lies in becoming a proactive teacher and collaborator.
Building Teach Learning Communities: Creating Shared by Craig Gibson (Editor); Sharon Mader
ISBN: 9780838946565
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
This unique collection asks each of the authors to address this question: What do we as educators need to learn (or unlearn) and experience so we can create teaching and learning communities across disciplines and learning levels based on shared meaning and purpose? Six fascinating chapters explore this question in different ways ... Building Teaching and Learning Communities is an entry into some of the most interesting conversations in higher education and offers ways for librarians to socialize in learning theory and begin 'thinking together' with faculty. It proposes questions, challenges assumptions, provides examples to be used and adapted, and can help you better prepare as teachers and pursue the essential role of conversation and collaboration with faculty and students.

ACRL- Choice Webinars

Primary Sources in Teaching-Collaborations Between Libraries and Faculty
Higher education courses in the arts, humanities and social sciences are increasingly encouraging students to work with original documents. Teachers and instructors are setting their students primary material – including manuscripts, audio-visual records, and data – to work on. The availability of such material in online collections is helping to boost this initiative.

In this session we look at how collaboration between libraries, teaching faculty and students can create an environment in which teaching with digital primary sources can inspire a new generation of thinkers, while encouraging valuable analytical and critical thinking skills.

Librarianship: Teaching & Learning

Teaching Toolkit