I began my ACC career at the start of fall semester 1989, at the Northridge Campus Library. A few highlights from 28 years of service:
- Selected for membership in the Futures Institute, 2015
- Received a grant during AY 2012-13 for the Bridging Cultures Bookshelf: Muslim Journeys, National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Library Association. This grant provided money for an online database subscription, a collection of materials and support for programming
- Represented ACC in Leadership Round Rock, 2004
- Received a Library Instruction Project of the Year Award in 2002 for the Chemistry 1411 (now CHEM 1111) online tutorial from the Texas Library Association Library Instruction Round Table.
AMLS, University of Chicago, Graduate Library School.
Thesis: An Analysis of “Monster” Stories in Picture Books for Young Children: Their Appeal, Their Value, and Their Uses.
B.A., honors, University of Illinois at Chicago
Major: Philosophy; Minor: Spanish
Faculty Librarian, Professor, Library Services, Austin Community College, Austin, Texas. 1989 - Present.
Patient's Librarian, Mayo Clinic Rochester, Saint Marys Hospital, Patients Library, Rochester, Minnesota.
I managed the library volunteer and paid staff and selected materials for patients and their families. Some of the less common items in the collection were projected books, prism glasses, 16⅔ rpm phonograph records for the blind and visually impaired, and automatic page turners to assist rehabilitating and bedridden readers. The Patients Library holdings included reference, materials for children and adults, and a small collection of books in languages other than English. I believe this position, more than any other, prepared me for the technological changes that would dramatically alter the materials and practices of librarianship, while providing yet another opportunity to work with a diverse user community--Mayo Clinic patients and their families came from all over the world.
Reference Librarian, Rochester Public Library, Rochester, Minnesota.
I helped provide library services to a diverse community of professionals, K-12 students, Rochester Community College students, the business community, retirees, homemakers, artists, musicians, and a significant number of Mayo Clinic patients and family members. Assisted patrons with medical reference sources and answered factual questions, mindful of the ethical challenges in providing medical advice or interpreting medical information. As Rochester Public Library was the largest library in predominantly rural Olmsted County, our service community included library users from nearby small towns and farm communities, along with pre-Internet "distance learning" students who were working on advanced degrees from colleges 14 to 100 miles away. I also provided Readers' Advisory (RA) services, assisted with staff training when the library automated, and selected materials for the brand-new computer science collection.
Young Adult Services Librarian, Chicago Public Library, Carter G. Woodson Regional Library, Chicago, Illinois.
My first professional position involved selecting materials and planning programs for 12- to 20-year-olds in collaboration with area school librarians, middle- and high school teachers, and subject specialists at the regional library.
I began working for my hometown Chicago Public Library System, however, while attending college: first as a junior library clerk, then as a library technician after receiving my undergraduate degree, and then as a librarian trainee once I began Graduate Library School at the University of Chicago. I had several different assignments over the years: the Education Department of the Central Library downtown (now the Chicago Cultural Center), a storefront neighborhood branch, and a regional library. Just before moving to Rochester, MN, I was selected for a reference position in the Literature and Languages Department at the Central Library.
These location assignments provided experience in serving a very diverse community of library users: scholars, professionals, the "underserved," the homeless, educators and students in teacher preparation programs, K-20 students, newly arrived immigrants learning English as a Second Language, and Chicagoans in adult literacy programs. One of my joys as a degreed paraprofessional (library technician) was assisting with the distribution of reading materials to the 24th year Great Books discussion group at the Central Library; another was helping to produce Tips for Tutors: A Manual for Reading Improvement.
American Library Association
- ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries):
- ACRL Best Practices in Information Literacy Invitational Conference, 2002
Distance Learning Section:
--Communications Committee (2001-2002)
--Instruction Section (1999-2001); Intern, Teaching Methods Committee, 2002
Research Committee, Intern (1996-1997); member (1997-1999)
- LITA (Library and Information Technology Association):
- RUSA (Reference and User Services Association):
- MARS (Machine Assisted Reference Services)
--Local Systems and Services Committee (1997-2003); Virtual Member, 2001-2002
--User Access to Services Committee (1994-2003); Preconference Program Planning Committee, 2003
- LIRT (Library Instruction Round Table):
- Publications Committee (1996-1999)
Computer Applications Committee (1993-1995); Chair (1995-1996)
- Black Caucus of the American Library Association, (1970, 1990-2006)
Membership Committee (1994-1995)
- EMIERT ( Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table)
- REFORMA: The National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking
Texas State Library
Campus and College-wide committees:
- Faculty and Staff Evaluation
- ACC Faculty Evaluation Committee
- ACC Faculty Development Advisory Committee
- ACC SACs New Technologies Committee
- Served on ACC Search Committees for Art History, Speech (2), Architectural and Engineering Design Computer Aided Design (2), Philosophy (2), Library Services (4), Professional Development and Evaluation Programs Office (2002-2009)
- TCM Advisory Committee (1994-1995)
- African American Cultural Awareness Month Committee – Northridge (1992-1994)
- Multicultural Committee - Northridge
- Sabbatical Review Committee (1992-1993)
- BSSC: Black Student Success Committee, webmaster, 2006-2015
NRG Multicultural Committee;
- SACs Reaffirmation Committee (1991-1993)
- Honors Program Committee (1990-1991)
ACC Library Services Committees
- LS Web Committee (2007-2010)
- Collection Development Team (2008-2009)
- Reference Group (sub-group of Teaching Team and Collection Development Committee, 2007-2008)
- Teaching Team
- Collection Development Committee (1998-99)
- TechNetWeb Committee (1998-1999)
- Periodicals Facilitator (1997-1998)
- Web Group of the Technology and Networking Committee (1997-1998)
- Ad hoc "Power Up" Committee (1996-1997)
- Information Services and Instruction Committee, Convener (1996-1997)
- Technology and Networking Committee (1996-1999)
- Collection Development Committee (1995-1999)
- LRS Focus Group (1995-1996)
- ACC Cypress Creek Campus LRS Advisory Committee (1994-1995)
- LRS Perkins Grant Project (1992-1997)
- Periodicals Committee (1990-1995)
- Automation Committee (1990-1993)
- LRS Advisory Committee (1990-1991)
Assisted with LRS survey and wrote report for publication in LRS newsletter, Resources
- Tech Team
- Diversity Steward (2011-2013), Diversity Facilitator (2013-2015), Leader, Diversity Team, 2016-17
- OER Team (2016-17)
- ODC Team (2006-2007; 2009-2014)
Shared Governance / Community Service
- Faculty Senate, Austin Community College:
Nominating Committee (1998-2008)
Auditing Committee (1994-1995; 2005-09)
Bylaws Committee (2009-2010)
- Board Member, Literacy Council of Williamson County (2004-09)
- Habitat for Humanity of Greater Round Rock (2004)
- African American Students Scholarship Committee, ACC (1991-1992)
- Presenter at ACC Summer Institutes and Tech Trends events.
- Participated in ACC and Library Services Outreach: campus tours to introduce the College to eighth graders; library presentations to high school students; workshops on electronic resources for neighborhood public school teachers.
- SmartMouth tutorial for PCM SPCH 1315
Collaborated with Teaching Team, Instructional Design and Speech faculty to design SmartMouth tutorial for PCM SPCH 1315 (Public Speaking). Largely responsible for the layout, design, and coding of the tutorial, 2006.
- Chemistry 1111 Lab Library Research Assignment Tutorial
Worked with Teaching Team and chemistry bibliographer to create and maintain an online tutorial for the Chemistry 1111 Lab Library Research Assignment. Piloted the use of the tutorial, its handouts and using wireless laptops for instruction for the first time at NRG with campus librarians and chemistry lab professors. The tutorial won recognition from the Texas Library Association Library Instruction Round Table Library Instruction Project of the Year Award in 2003.
Ashley, Teresa. “Bringing Resources Together: The Digital Library Meets Google! RUSA/MARS Program.” DLS Newsletter, Fall 2002: 6. Bibliography.
------------------. “Usability Testing: Doing It Cheap, Doing It Right, Doing It Yourself.” DLS Newsletter, Fall 2002: 7.
"Users' Information-Seeking Behavior: What are they really doing? A Bibliography." User Access to Services Committee, RUSA Machine-Assisted Reference Section (MARS). Reference & User Services Quarterly, 40(3) Spr 2001:240-50.
(Contributor) Research Committee, Library Instruction Round Table. "Publish Your Article Outside the Library Field: A Bibliographic Guide to Non Library and Information Science Journals With Articles on Libraries, Librarians, or Library Services." Chicago: ALA Editions, 2000.
Ashley, Teresa Elizabeth Keene. An Analysis of “Monster” Stories in Picture Books for Young Children: Their Appeal, Their Value, and Their Uses. 1978. Thesis (A.M.)--Univ. of Chicago, Graduate Library School, March 1978.
Keene, Teresa. Tips for Tutors: A Manual for Reading Improvement. Chicago Public Library [1970?]. Also see http://bit.ly/agsZKp.