"Getting Started Health Sciences" by Health Sciences is licensed under CC BY 4.0
There are several types of information available to students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. Details provided on the different types of resources are listed below:
| Books | You can find a wealth of resources in the library's book collection. A book can provide detailed background information on a topic. |
| Reference Books | Encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, etc. are considered reference sources. Access these types of resources when you need to find definitions, biographies, overviews, and historical information. |
| Articles | Articles can be found in journals, magazines, or newspapers. Articles can vary in scope, but usually fall into one of two categories: scholarly and popular. |
| Web Sites | The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations. Be sure to carefully evaluate the information found here. |
Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons.
Compendium of Veterinary Products - CVP (Android, iOS)
Features over 5,900 pharmaceutical, biological, feed medication and parasiticide product descriptions of common drugs. Over 260 manufacturers/distributors and their contact information.
MSD (Merck) Veterinary Manual (Android, iOS)
Provides animal health professionals with clear, practical explanations of thousands of conditions across all body systems.
The American Red Cross Pet First Aid app puts veterinary advice for everyday emergencies in the palm of your hand.
Plumb's Veterinary Drugs (Android, iOS)
Used to access up-to-date veterinary drug information on your mobile device. ACC also has the database!
Focusing on animal anatomy.
Vet Calculator (Android)
Designed for veterinary professions to do many common calculations.
Inventory and tracking system for veterinary practice purchases.
Veterinary Diseases (Android)
Contains information online and offline on a variety of veterinary diseases.
Provides a calculator to determine IV fluid levels for animals.
VTNE Practice Test by Pocket Prep (Android, iOS)
Provides practice tests for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). Offers in-app purchases for more premium content.
Veterinary Advances
A suite of advanced veterinary apps are available through the Veterinary Advances website. Most apps are geared to horses (ex. equine drugs, radiology, ultrasound, etc.) but one feline app is also available. For Android and iOS.
VetPDA Calcs ($4.99 for iOS)
Provides a variety of calculators including emergency and anesthetic drugs, fluid therapy, weight and temperature conversion, and more.
Vet Nurse Quick Reference ($1.99 for Android)
Contains a comprehensive reference of normal parameters and ranges for small and common household pets.
Congratulations to the 2023 Veterinary Technology graduates for their 100% VTNE pass rate!!
Congratulations to Veterinary Technology for their FULL accreditation from the AVMA!
Interested in becoming a Vet Tech student? Check out requirements, the program map, and a day in the life.
Mental Health Resources: preventing suicide in veterinary medicine
ACC Vet Tech Professor Kate Peterson tells you how to take care of your canine and feline fur babies!
Ready to adopt a pet? It's free for ACC students, faculty, and staff!
News from the American Veterinary Medical Association:
Vet-Anatomy (
