How big is the collection at RGC?
The Rio Grande print collection is approximately 23,666 items. This includes circulating books, dvds, items on course reserves, reference books, and equipment such as laptops and tablets. This number does not include the print periodicals.
Are you throwing all the books away?
No. Books will be re-distributed to other campuses based on course offerings at those campuses as well as space available at those campus libraries. Items that are badly damaged will be evaluated and considered for replacement before being discarded.
Where are the books going?
General education materials will be distributed based on enrollment in those classes at a campus taking in to account the shelf space in that library. "Special" collections will be moved to those campuses where the classes will be taught. For example - art materials would go primarily to the campus where art classes are taught. That being said, subject librarians are consulting classroom faculty to begin discussions for their preferences, the number of students in a class and - as stated before, the space available at that campus library.
Can I donate the books in my office to the library?
What if I need some of the books moved from RGC for my classes?
Personal books and items to be moved from your offices should be coordinated through the Campus Manager’s Office. If you are requesting library items move to another campus for your classes, please contact your
Subject Librarian to request that these books be moved. The subject librarian will work with the library staff to get the items moved to another campus library.
I am teaching at a new location, can I have books sent to that campus?
Please contact your
Subject LibrarianSubject Librarian to request that these books be moved. The subject librarian will work with the library staff to get the items moved to another campus library.
What library services will be available during renovation? Will there be a library?
Due to limited and secure space in the 3000 building, there will be no physical library collection or course reserves collection on site at RGC during the renovation. We will have a book drop available for items to be returned inside of the 3000 building. Starting in the Summer 2017 RGC Faculty can make arrangements to have items delivered to their RGC campus mailbox by calling the HLC Library Circulation desk at 3-7380. Please allow 2 business day for delivery. Librarians are available for instruction sessions at RGC by using the Instruction Request Form . Reference assistance is available 24/7 via our online chat service. Or in person at any of the other ACC libraries. Please see the question below regarding procedures for Course Reserves.
Can the library supply boxes for me to pack my office?
Library Services does not have a unique supply of boxes, please work with the RGC Campus Manager for moving boxes. The Campus Manager’s Office can assist you in finding boxes and scheduling assistance in moving your materials from your RGC office to your new office.
Where did the RGC Reserves items go?
Items on Reserve which are personal faculty copies will be returned (via campus mail) to faculty members at the end of the Spring 2017 semester. Items owned by the library will be returned to the regular collection and will be relocated to a new campus. If you wish to request your reserve items be put on reserve at the new campus where you will be teaching, please visit our
Course Reserves page for contact information and instructions. We will not have a Course Reserves collection in the 3000 building. If you are teaching at RGC in the 3000 building during the renovation and would like to place items on Course Reserve, we encourage you to place items on Reserve at one of the following 7 day a week campuses closest to RGC: HLC, RVS, EVC or SAC.
I'm still teaching at RGC during the renovation, can I still request a library instruction session?
Yes. An RGC Instruction Request Form will still be available for you to request a library instruction session. The Library Services Information Literacy Team will be scheduling librarians to support your request.
Will a librarian be available to provide assistance to students and faculty at RGC?
ACC librarians are available in person, online, and via telephone at all other ACC Libraries. Our 24/7 online chat service is also available to you and your students. Online library resources (ebooks, databases, streaming media) will continue to be available 24/7. At this time we do not plan to have a physical library collection or library staff on site in the 3000 building during renovation. We will adjust as the demand for services increase.
When is the RGC library closing for renovation?
The RGC Library will close for renovation after the last day of the Spring 2017 semester. The last day the RGC library will be open is Friday, May 12th.
When is the RGC library re-opening?
The main campus building, which includes the RGC Library, is expected to reopen in the Fall of 2019.
What is the closest ACC library to RGC?
