1
2
3
1. Topic Sheet - There are many topics to choose from. You will notice a list of questions at the bottom of the topic sheet. Answers to these questions are to be written in the form of a report (your completed paper). Please scan through the topic overview and the list of questions when you select your topic to make sure you feel comfortable with the content. If you change your mind, you can swap it out for one of the topics not selected.
2. Lab Notes - I have highlighted the areas you need to complete. You are to find one article from a reference database (Access Science or Kirk-Othmer) and one article from a journal database (Academic Search Complete). You will need to show me that you have completed these sections before you leave.
3. CSE Documentation - This is the guide you will use to cite the sources you use for your paper unless your professor will accept an alternative documentation style.
**On the due date, you will submit your topic sheet, lab notes handout, and research report to your professor. If you have any questions regarding the formatting of your paper, please contact your instructor.**
You are required to find at least 2 resources for your paper. One must be from a reference database (Access Science or Kirk-Othmer) and the other will be from a journal database (Academic Search Complete).
A to Z list of Databases
You can find a full listing of our databases through this link. For example, Access Science and Academic Search Complete will both be listed under A. Simply click on the title to access the database. Direct access to the individual databases can be found below.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Access Science
Articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Kirk-Othmer
Articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses.