LibGuides: Humanities: Humanities Resources

Databases

ACC Libraries subscribe to many electronic resources. For off-campus access, log in with your ACCeID

Below are links to e-resources that will help you locate articles in the humanities.

*Note--For help with your ACCeID and password: ACCeID login manager.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
ARTstor
Digital library of over one million images related to art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Films on Demand
Educational streaming videos for most subject areas.
Gale Ebooks
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Kanopy
Contains more than 18,000 streaming videos, including films from the Criterion Collection, festival circuit documentaries, and TV series.
Kanopy (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.
Literary Reference Center
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Oxford Art Online
Online art collection that includes thousands of images and articles on artists, eras, and movements.

Humanities Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Artsy App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Artsy-Use Artsy to discover and buy art (over 250,000 artworks for sale) from the the top galleries and auction houses. (iOS)

Digital Atlas Ancient Life App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app

Digital Atlas Ancient Life-An interactive digital atlas for the paleontology time periods: Neogene, Pennsylvanian, Ordovician. (iOS)

Shazam App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app

Shazam-Identify music, get song lyrics, and discover the music that artists discover themselves. (iOS)