Skip to main content
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Research and Evidence-Based Nursing Practice: Finding Evidence in PubMed

Tools and resources for students exploring evidence-based practice and doing nursing research

PubMed

PubMed, maintained by the National Library of Medicine, is the premier medical literature database in the world. While not everything in it is available full-text, we can connect you to those resources listed in PubMed that we have at ACC. While not primarily a nursing database, there is a substantial amount. There is some overlap with CINAHL coverage.

Using Limiters to Specify Article Type

You can use Article Type limiters to see only specific types of articles -- Randomized Controlled Trials, Systematic Reviews, etc. If you don't see the article type you want, click the Customize link at the bottom of the list and see if that type is available.

 

Using Filters to Limit to Articles Available through ACC

Not everything in PubMed is available through ACC subscriptions and databases. Use the filters on the right to limit to either those articles available at Austin Community College or to Free Full Text. In this example, while there are 85 total articles in the PubMed results, 12 of those are available full-text through ACC and 14 are available as Free Full Text.

Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article that's not available through ACC subscriptions, we may be able to get you a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Just fill out our form to request an article. Note that this process can take some time, so it's not a good option for last-minute research.


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College