Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias
Use encyclopedias for short, reliable background information, for short biographies, hard facts, statistics, etc. Great places to start research.
Online Library Encyclopedias - Subscribed to by the ACC Library. Off-campus access requires login with ACC EID. These generally have higher quality, more reliable information than those on the general web.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Over 100 separate subject encyclopedias that can be searched all at once.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Over 70,000 articles. Also has Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus and a world atlas. Most search results have links to relevant web sites and periodical articles.
- Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia - A basic encyclopedia with clear, short entries.
- AccessScience - McGraw-Hill online encyclopedia of science and technology. Also links to research updates, multimedia, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - Biology and related fields. Articles range from introductory to advanced.
Encyclopedias on the World Wide Web - Accessible to anyone. Be careful in evaluating reliability.
- Encyclopedia.com - Simultaneously searches over 100 encyclopedias and other reference sources. Look for results from the Columbia Encyclopedia, a good basic source.
- Wikipedia - The do-it-yourself encyclopedia. Be very careful in double-checking information from this. Strong points are its coverage of obscure and up-to-the-minute topics.
Let Us Help You ! |
ACC Reference Services|
|
|
|
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
ACC Library Services
Administrative Offices
1212 Rio Grande.
Austin, TX 78701
512.223.3085
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
ACC Library Services
Administrative Offices
1212 Rio Grande.
Austin, TX 78701
512.223.3085
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait