English for Speakers of Other Languages - Academic: KEY RESOURCES

ACCessible Library Services

Adult Education

Career Information

Child Care & Development

Consumer Health

Student Learning Success Toolbox

A simple search of  -deaf culture documentary- at youtube.com helps the hearing understand the importance
of deaf culture. 

Other recommended websites include:

• Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
• ASL Literacy
• ASL Network
• Gallaudet University Regional Center-Midwest (GURC-Midwest)
• Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. Training
• Southwest College Institute for the Deaf

ESOL Students and Faculty,

This library guide is designed in collaboration with ACC ESOL faculty. Content is divided in 4 levels that follow ESOL classes taught at the Austin Community College. 

We have incorporated books from different publishers that mark reading levels on their books differently. This library guide will help you determine what books fall under the reading level class you are teaching/taking. 

SEARCH STRATEGIES:

You can also browse our catalog and search only for ESOL books by selecting the ESOL option in the top left corner:

Here are some dictionaries you can access online from your computer, tablet, or phone. Included are dictionaries found on the internet and e-book dictionaries found in the library catalog. You will need to login with your ACC eID and password to access ACC e-books. There are many more online dictionaries, for many languages in the library catalog and on the internet.

English

• Cambridge Dictionary

Multilanguage

• wordreference.com - This site includes bilingual dictionaries for English and many other languages.

Bilingual Dictionaries

Spanish:

• Cambridge Dictionary: English to Spanish and Spanish to English search options
• Lexico: A collaboration between Dictionary.com and Oxford University Press. Click the arrow next to the search box to pick the search mode.

Arabic:

• Cambridge English - Arabic Dictionary

Chinese:

• mandarintools.com

French:

• Cambridge English - French Dictionary

German:

• Cambridge English - German Dictionary

Italian:

• Cambridge English - Italian Dictionary

Japanese:

• Cambridge English - Japanese Dictionary

Portuguese:

• Cambridge English - Portuguese Dictionary

Russian:

• Cambridge English - Russian Dictionary
• The Russian Dictionary Tree: a learner's grammatical dictionary created at Cornell University

In addition to ESOL level books, here are suggestions on searching for other ESOL materials: 

ESOL print books

ESOL electronic books (ebooks)

ESOL DVDs

ESOL streaming video

Watching video in English can be a good way to practice. Many databases include video content, but a couple are specifically for video content.

Not sure where to look for articles? Here are lists of databases to use for different subjects!

• Art
• Business and Economics
• Careers and Employment
• Chemistry
• Computer Science 
• Drama
• Education
• Environmental Science
• Government and Law
• Health & Medicine
• History
• Literature and Literary Criticism
• Multicultural Studies
• Music
• News and Newspapers 
• Philosophy and Religion
• Psychology
• Sciences
• Technology
• Texas History and Culture

There are at least four stages leading to language literacy. The  University of South Florida's provides
more detail about second language acquisition ESOL Levels.

• 1st Stage: Preproduction
• 2nd Stage: Early Production
• 3rd Stage: Speech Emergence
• 4th Stage: Intermediate Fluency

The Refugee Development Center (RDC) in Lansing, Michigan,offers English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) classes and after school tutoring programs for new refugees to the United States.

Below are select resources from RDC's recommended list for Online ESL and Tutoring. For full list click here. 

• English Test Online
• Learn American English Online
• ManyThings
• Purdue Writing Lab
• TeAchnology