The Economics Associates of Arts degree (AA) is in the Liberal Arts program of ACC's Guided Pathways.
Economics: a Very Short Introduction by
Combining a global approach with examples from everyday life, Partha Dasgupta describes the lives of two children who live very different lives in different parts of the world: in the Mid-West USA and in Ethiopia. He compares the obstacles facing them, and the processes that shape their lives, their families, and their futures. He shows how economics uncovers these processes, finds explanations for them, and how it forms policies and solutions. Along the way, Dasgupta provides an intelligent and accessible introduction to key economic factors and concepts such as individual choices, national policies, efficiency, equity, development, sustainability, dynamic equilibrium, property rights, markets, and public goods.
The American Economy by
A compelling compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents that chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective. Based on a work originally published in 2003, The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia has been thoroughly updated with information on the accounting scandals of the early 2000s and the recession of 2008, including the government stimulus and bailout programs and the recession's impact on key markets. With more than 600 short entries, 31 longer essays, and 32 primary source documents, the encyclopedia spans American history from colonial times to the present. Researchers will discover detailed information on people, events, and government actions that have shaped our economy, with entries on such seminal issues as slavery, migration patterns, the welfare state, the rise of the city, and the development of financial institutions. Throughout, special attention is paid to the interdependence of economics with political, social, and cultural forces. Covering everything from the national debt to monetary policy, law, unemployment, inflation, and government/business relations, this work is the ideal go-to resource for quick answers, in-depth analysis, or direction for further research. Over 600 A-Z entries on key ideas, initiatives, people, and events in the history of U.S. economic policy 31 in-depth essays on core economic issues and trends A separate primary source section that includes 32 important treaties, key political speeches, and more relating to the American economy from the Articles of Confederation period through the Obama Administration Easy-to-use tables of economic data designed for quick reference Extensive cross-referencing A bibliography of significant materials relating to all aspects of the American economy
21st Century Economics: a Reference Handbook by
Interest in economics is at an all-time high. Among the challenges facing the nation is an economy with rapidly rising unemployment, failures of major businesses and industries, and continued dependence on oil with its wildly fluctuating price. Americans are debating the proper role of the government in company bailouts, the effectiveness of tax cuts versus increased government spending to stimulate the economy, and potential effects of deflation. Economists have dealt with such questions for generations, but they have taken on new meaning and significance. Tackling these questions and encompassing analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed, 21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook is intended to meet the needs of several types of readers. Undergraduate students preparing for exams will find summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics. Readers interested in learning about economic analysis of an issue as well students embarking on research projects will find introductions to relevant theory and empirical evidence. And economists seeking to learn about extensions of analysis into new areas or about new approaches will benefit from chapters that introduce cutting-edge topics. To make the book accessible to undergraduate students, models have been presented only in graphical format (minimal calculus) and empirical evidence has been summarized in ways that do not require much background in statistics or econometrics. It is thereby hoped that chapters will provide both crucial information and inspiration in a non-threatening, highly readable format.
From https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/economic-sciences/2023/press-release/
9 October 2023
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2023 to
Claudia Goldin
Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
“for having advanced our understanding of women’s labour market outcomes”
This year’s Laureate in the Economic Sciences, Claudia Goldin, provided the first comprehensive account of women’s earnings and labour market participation through the centuries. Her research reveals the causes of change, as well as the main sources of the remaining gender gap.
Career and Family by
A renowned economic historian traces women's journey to close the gender wage gap and sheds new light on the continued struggle to achieve equity between couples at home A century ago, it was a given that a woman with a college degree had to choose between having a career and a family. Today, there are more female college graduates than ever before, and more women want to have a career and family, yet challenges persist at work and at home. This book traces how generations of women have responded to the problem of balancing career and family as the twentieth century experienced a sea change in gender equality, revealing why true equity for dual career couples remains frustratingly out of reach. Drawing on decades of her own groundbreaking research, Claudia Goldin provides a fresh, in-depth look at the diverse experiences of college-educated women from the 1900s to today, examining the aspirations they formed--and the barriers they faced--in terms of career, job, marriage, and children. She shows how many professions are "greedy," paying disproportionately more for long hours and weekend work, and how this perpetuates disparities between women and men. Goldin demonstrates how the era of COVID-19 has severely hindered women's advancement, yet how the growth of remote and flexible work may be the pandemic's silver lining. Antidiscrimination laws and unbiased managers, while valuable, are not enough. Career and Family explains why we must make fundamental changes to the way we work and how we value caregiving if we are ever to achieve gender equality and couple equity.
Welcome to the Economics Research Guide. It will get you started with finding books, videos, articles, and websites. Need a little guidance? Ask a Librarian! We're here to help you.
Navigate by clicking the tabs above and hovering over the Books/Videos and Technology/Web Sites tabs will get you to more content. Be sure to email me if you have a suggestion for a link, book, or database. The Handy Tools tab is definitely worth a look, too!
Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.
Bloomberg: Business News - Access to global business, stock market and finance news, and trending topics. Provides alerts on global stock positions and summarized financial, economic, and corporate information.(iOS)
Economic Times - Coverage of Stock Market, Business, Finance, Sensex - BSE India, Nifty- NSE India, Personal Finance, Business and Economy News (iOS)
FRED Economic Data - Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of more than 72,000 economic data time series from 54 national, international, public, and private sources. (iOS)
Khan Academy - Offers popular and accessible lessons on microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, and capital markets. Extrememly popular with students. (iOS)
Microeconomics X-A study tool for microeconomics at the AP or intro college level. It integrates multiple choice quizzes, concise videos, flashcards, formula sheets, chapter summaries and a scratch pad. (iOS)