Skip to main content

Foreign Languages: Home

A guide for finding resources on Foreign Languages in the ACC Libraries and on the Internet

News from El País

From El País, the largest circulating newspaper in Spain:

Loading

International News from Le Monde.fr

based in Paris, France.

Loading

International News from Die Zeit

based in Hamburg, Germany

Loading

World News from Deutsche Welle: DW-WORLD.DE

the Arabic edition

Loading

World News from Deutsche Welle: DW-WORLD.DE

the Chinese edition

Loading

News from Asahi Shimbun

based in Tokyo, Japan and the world's largest newspaper

Loading

Getting Started

Foreign Language research is important for learning to speak, read, and listen to a language as well as to understand its cultural underpinnings. ACC offers courses in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Latin, Russian, and Spanish.

There are several types of information available to Foreign Language students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:

Reference Works This covers encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations, historical information, and biographical sketches.
Books and Media
You can find a good selection of foreign language books and media that provide detailed information on current usage.  There are titles on grammar, verbs, nouns, speaking, reading, and more.
Articles Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments in various countries. You can find articles on current trends, social and cultural information, and studying and teaching foreign languages in major newspapers, magazines, and journals. ACC databases can help connect you to these articles.
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from on-line foreign language resources, educational institutions, professional organizations, and government sources.

Use the tabs above to get more information.

Foreign Languages Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Memrise App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Memrise-1000s of native speaker videos for learning English. (iOS)

busuu App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
busuu-Learn Spanish, English, German, French, Italian and 6 other languages with the help of over 60 million international native speakers that learn, practice, and teach with busuu. (iOS/Android)

Learn Spanish App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Learn Spanish-Includes nine games designed for Spanish vocabulary & conversation skills. (iOS)

Learn French App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Learn French-Includes nine games designed for French vocabulary & conversation skills. (iOS)

Learn Chinese App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Learn Chinese-Includes nine games designed for Mandarin Chinese vocabulary & conversation skills. (iOS)

Learn German App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Learn German-Includes nine games designed for German vocabulary & conversation skills. (iOS)

Learn Japanese App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Learn Japanese-Includes eight games designed for Japanese vocabulary & conversation skills. (iOS)

Loading

Careers


Summary of Career Info for Interpreters and Translators from the Occupational Outlook Handbook: 

Quick Facts: Interpreters and Translators
2015 Median Pay $44,190 per year
$21.24 per hour
Typical Entry-Level Education Bachelor's degree
Work Experience in a Related Occupation None
On-the-job Training Short-term on-the-job training
Number of Jobs, 2014 61,000
Job Outlook, 2014-24 29% (Much faster than average)
Employment Change, 2014-24 17,500

What Interpreters and Translators Do

Interpreters and translators convert information from one language into another language. Interpreters work in spoken or sign language; translators work in written language.

Work Environment

Interpreters work in schools, hospitals, courtrooms, and conference centers. Some work for translation companies or individual organizations, and many translators also work from home. Self-employed interpreters and translators frequently have variable work schedules. Most interpreters and translators work full time during regular business hours.

How to Become an Interpreter or Translator

Although interpreters and translators typically need at least a bachelor’s degree, the most important requirement is to have native-level proficiency in English and at least one other language. Many complete job-specific training programs.

Pay

The median annual wage for interpreters and translators was $44,190 in May 2015.

Job Outlook

Employment of interpreters and translators is projected to grow 29 percent from 2014 to 2024, much faster than the average for all occupations. Employment growth will be driven by increasing globalization and by large increases in the number of non-English-speaking people in the United States. Job prospects should be best for those who have professional certification.

State & Area Data

Explore resources for employment and wages by state and area for interpreters and translators.

Similar Occupations

Compare the job duties, education, job growth, and pay of interpreters and translators with similar occupations.

More Information, Including Links to O*NET

Learn more about interpreters and translators by visiting additional resources, including O*NET, a source on key characteristics of workers and occupations.


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College • Last update 7-6-2017