Skip to main content

Rio Grande Library Move Out & Renovation: Home

The RGC Main building (which housed the library) closed Summer 2017 to undergo a 2-3 year renovation project. This guide serves as a communication tool to keep the ACC community up to date on the renovation and relocation of the library.

CLOSED BUT STILL OFFERING THE SERVICES AND RESOURCES YOU NEED, SO READ ON!

A Message From the Dean of Library Services - Julie Todaro

   

As we all know, the Rio Grande Campus is closing in June of 2017 for an exciting renovation. Our goal is to maximize use of the RGC library collection for our students, faculty and staff and - as you might imagine - this entails moving library materials which takes a great deal of strategic planning and time. So in preparation for the closing of Rio Grande, Library Services has reviewed the variety of ways collections can be sorted and shifted and has chosen a way to systematically shift these resources to other ACC campus library locations. This process that we have chosen helped us to determine the timeframe, the order and pace at which we move the materials, and the ACC campus libraries where the materials will be housed. Criteria we used to make decisions includes:

  • RGC’s collection is one of the the larger ACC collections with 23,666 items.

  • Materials will be distributed to other library locations based on classroom faculty (academic program and departmental) relocations, where classes are being moved/will be taught, and - obviously - shelf space availability.

  • The RGC Campus Manager’s office and ACC warehouse staff have worked with us to schedule weekly pickup and delivery of materials. This ensures that items are never out of service or inaccessible to students, faculty and staff for more than 2-3 business days (or in many cases, fewer days than that.)

This process and move of RGC library materials is happening in a number of phases, with the two main phases being:

  • Phase 1 - August 2016 - March 2017. Moving the low circulating materials by Spring break 2017.  

  • Phase 2 - March - May. Moving the high circulating materials, course reserves, periodicals, and reference collections by the end May 2017 - or sooner if needed.

We understand that many of you may have questions. We have created this online guide to track the collection move process and we have included an FAQ with anticipated questions already answered. If you have additional questions or concerns, we ask that you use the guide’s feedback form.  This form goes directly to the Dean of Library Services - Julie Todaro, the Head Librarian for RGC - Carrie Gits and the Assistant Head Librarian for RGC - Irena Klaic. We will keep updating this guide as we answer your questions and as we progress with the move and eventually the renovation of the library.

 

Sincerely, 

Dr. Julie Todaro

Dean of Library Services, Austin Community College

CLOSED! Library Move & Renovation Overview

After being in a building for more than 30 years, it's home! And it certainly was home to many of us over the past decades. I am so excited; however, to be a part of the plans for the new Rio Grande and the space will be incredible for our students, faculty and staff.

To confirm - at this point the Rio Grande Campus process is a 2-3 year renovation project of the entire Main building at the Rio Grande Campus. The library's print collection was redistributed among the other ACC Campus Libraries in the District. They all still remain available and accessible throughout this renovation period.

When the library and campus re-open in 2019 the campus will have a library ready for today and the future.  I will post some pictures and process information soon as we move toward our midpoint in discussions and documentation of our project. We couldn't be in better hands with Paul Mason - our ACC architect/project manager. 

We continue to offer instruction so just fill out your usual information literacy request form noted on this Libguide and in your beginning-of-the-semester email. Also, we are supporting the movement of materials in and out of Rio Grande to help students and faculty providing classes in buildings that surround Rio Grande.

We have a great team! Let us know if we can assist you with anything else during this project and until we return to Rio Grande.

Julie

 

Project Alerts - What's Happening Now!

Based on several factors: 

  • where programs are moving to after AY17

  • where RGC classes will be taught after AY17

  • available shelf space at other ACC Libraries

​​We identified where RGC materials will be relocated.  This chart illustrates the projected % of the RGC collection that will be moved to each campus: 

June - July - August:

  • Low Circulating items  which support programs and course offerings move to  HYS - Started June 26 - completed July 18, 2016.
  • Low Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to RVS - Started July 19, 2016 - completed August 9, 2016.

September - October:

  • Low Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to SAC - Started October 5th, 2016 - completed October 21, 2016.

November - December:

  • Low Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to HLC - Started December 6th, 2016 completed January 30th, 2017

February - March:

  • Low Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to CYP - Started March 7th, 2017 - completed March 21st, 2017
  • High Circulating Items which support programs and course offerings move to RVS, HYS, & HLC completed March 21st, 2017.

March - April:

  • Low/High Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to RRC - Started March 22nd, 2017 - Completed April 12th, 2017.
  • Low/High Circulating items which support programs and course offerings move to EVC - Started March 30th, 2017 - Completed May 5th, 2017.

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College • Last update 7-6-2017