It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: American Indian / Native American
Focuses on specific aspects of diversity such as race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation/gender identity, creed, and socioeconomic status
Bibliography of Native North AmericansArticles from more than 260 journals, on all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life from the 16th century to the present, are indexed. Many articles are full text. Subject coverage is wide and there are citations for books, essays, conference papers, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Call Number: N6538.A4 E94 2008 ebk Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Native American Music of North America"Documents the varied musical practices among Native Americans, both historically and in a modern context. The entries showcase how musicians with Native American heritage are influencing modern musical forms including native flute, orchestral string playing, gospel, and hip hop."
Call Number: ML102.N37 K45 2013 ebk Gale Virtual Reference Library
Conversations with Remarkable Native Americans by Joëlle RostkowskiEthnohistorian Joëlle Rostkowski brings to light major developments in the Native American experience.... Overcoming hardships they have experienced as a forgotten minority, often torn between two cultures, these prominent native writers, artists, journalists, activists, lawyers, and museum administrators have each made remarkable contributions toward the transformation of old stereotypes ... and the sharing of their heritage with mainstream society.
Call Number: E89 .C66 2012
Growing up Native American by Patricia Riley (Introduction by); Ines Hernandez (Foreword by)"In the books available to Patricia Riley as a child, Native Americans were almost always depicted as exotic, cultural artifacts from the past, the stereotypical "Vanishing Americans," sometimes noble, but always backward savages on their way out, and soon to be no more. It was only later in life that she discovered that the experience of growing up Native American has produced some of the most moving and powerful works of fiction and nonfiction ever written."
Call Number: E98.C5 G76 1993
Genocide of the Mind: New Native American Writing by Moore, MariJo,ed."There has been a rising movement to accurately describe Native cultures and histories. In particular, people have begun to explore the experience of urban Indians—individuals who live in two worlds struggling to preserve traditional Native values within the context of an ever-changing modern society."
Love Medicine is a masterful debut novel, one of the most influential, beloved, and distinguished works of contemporary fiction. It is the unforgettable saga of two families and how their destinies intertwine over the course of fifty years on and around a North Dakota reservation. More books by Louise Erdrich.
The great Native American novel of a battered veteran returning home to heal his mind and spirit More than 35 years since its original publication, Ceremony remains one of the most profound and moving works of Native American literature, a novel that is itself a ceremony of healing." More books by Leslie Marmon Silko.
Call Number: PN1997.2.F53 F53 2007 DVD | D743.23 .F53 2007c DVD
"Chronicles one of the bloodiest battles of World War II, focusing on the men (one Native American) who raised the flag at Iwo Jima and were subsequently hailed as heroes and used to raise money for the war effort."
Few hospital beds, lack of equipment, a shipment of body bags in response to a request for coronavirus tests: The agency providing health care to tribal communities struggled to meet the challenge.
Mark Walker New York Times 09/30/2020
2019 State of Indian Nations
Articles from Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers
Use the databases under Research to find articles. Here are some noteworthy online publications.
(1) American Indian Quarterly
Use these databases to access full text articles from this publication:
"Indian Country Today Media Network’s home page is the digital gateway to the world’s most comprehensive and innovative online Native news and entertainment site, serving Native and American Indian tribes nationwide. It features Native American Journalism Association award-winning writers and reporters, and a team of columnists composed of tribal leaders, members of Congress, and the foremost Native thinkers, writers, and artists in Indian Country."
Culture and national pow-wow information recognized for excellence by the Native American Journalists Association. "...NFIC is a newspaper overseen by its readers who contribute news and information from through-out North America."
The free passage of Native people who live across both the United States’ northern or southern border is curtailed by strict identification laws, thus making tribal members feel detached from their relatives in Mexico or Canada..
November is Native American Heritage Month, also referred to as American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Month.
"The month is a time to celebrate rich and diverse cultures, traditions, and histories and to acknowledge the important contributions of Native people... to educate the general public about tribes, to raise a general awareness about the unique challenges Native people have faced both historically and in the present, and the ways in which tribal citizens have worked to conquer these challenges." --National Congress of American Indians
It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Established by an act of Congress in 1989 (amendment in 1996), the museum works in collaboration with the Native peoples of the Western Hemisphere to protect and foster their cultures by reaffirming traditions and beliefs, encouraging contemporary artistic expression, and empowering the Indian voice.
Proud To Be
Roj Rodriguez, a native Texan, is a commercial and fine art photographer based in New York. Part of his work, "Navajo Nation," is included in this video. Published on YouTube on July 8, 2014, "Proud to Be" (short version) is an ad that aired during halftime at the NBA finals game, San Antonio Spurs VS Miami Heat. See The National Congress of American Indians for more of the "Change the Mascot" discussion.
"The United States has a unique legal and political relationship with Indian tribes and Alaska Native entities as provided by the Constitution of the United States, treaties, court decisions and Federal statutes. Within the government-to-government relationship, Indian Affairs provides services directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts to 565 Federally recognized tribes."
"The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."