Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Almanacs, Atlases and more
Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia by With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.
Call Number: E184.A75 A8287 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Voices of the Asian American and Pacific Islander Experience by This unique work presents contemporary and historical views on Asian America and Pacific Islanders, conveyed through the voices of the men and women who lived these experiences over more than 150 years.
Call Number: E184.A75 V65 2012 ebk Gale Virtual Reference Library
Asian American Leadership by An authoritative, up-to-date reference guide organized in A to Z fashion covering all the major inter-disciplinary themes related to individual and group leadership in the Asian American communities and beyond.
Call Number: E184 .A75 A841442 2015
Books and eBooks
Asian America by An essential collection that brings together the core primary texts of the Asian American experience in one volume "A vital, up-to-date collection of critical sources that shed new insight into the lives of diverse Asian Americans, past and present."--Erika Lee, author of The Making of Asian America: A History An essential volume for the growing academic discipline of Asian American studies, this collection of core primary texts draws from a wide range of fields, from law to visual culture to politics, covering key historical and cultural developments that enable students to engage directly with the Asian American experience over the past century. The primary sources, organized around keywords, often concern multiple hemispheres and movements, making this compendium valuable for a number of historical, ethnic, and cultural study undergraduate programs.
Call Number: E184 .A75 A87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Emerging Voices by While a growing number of popular and scholarly works focus on Asian Americans, most are devoted to the experiences of larger groups such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Filipino, and Indian Americans. As the field grows, there is a pressing need to understand the smaller and more recent immigrant communities. Emerging Voices fills this gap with its unique and compelling discussion of underrepresented groups, including Burmese, Indonesian, Mong, Hmong, Nepalese, Romani, Tibetan, and Thai Americans. Unlike the earlier and larger groups of Asian immigrants to America, many of whom made the choice to emigrate to seek better economic opportunities, many of the groups discussed in this volume fled war or political persecution in their homeland. Forced to make drastic transitions in America with little physical or psychological preparation, questions of "why am I here," "who am I," and "why am I discriminated against," remain at the heart of their post-emigration experiences. Bringing together eminent scholars from a variety of disciplines, this collection considers a wide range of themes, including assimilation and adaptation, immigration patterns, community, education, ethnicity, economics, family, gender, marriage, religion, sexuality, and work.
Call Number: E184.S69 E64 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Dothead: Poems by Dothead is an exploration of selfhood both intense and exhilarating. Within the first pages, Amit Majmudar asserts the claims of both the self and the other: the title poem shows us the place of an Indian American teenager in the bland surround of a mostly white peer group, partaking of imagery from the poet's Hindu tradition; the very next poem is a fanciful autobiography, relying for its imagery on the religious tradition of Islam.
Call Number: PS3613 .A3536 A6 2016
Growing up Asian American by This collection of stories and essays looks at the Asian American experience through such issues as education stratification, kinship, beauty standards, and intraethnic conflicts.
Call Number: PS508.A8 G76 1993
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
The Namesake by In The Namesake, Lahiri enriches the themes that made her earlier collection an international bestseller: the immigrant experience, the clash of cultures, the conflicts of assimilation, and, most poignantly, the tangled ties between generations.
Call Number: PS3562.A316 N36 2004
The Other One Percent by The overall picture of East Indian immigration to the United States is one of economic success, despite critical issues faced by the immigrants stemming from the social, linguistic, and class structure in India, simultaneous leadership in high-skill industries (like computers and medicine) and low-skill industries (like hospitality and retail trade), and multi-generational challenges of a diverse group from the world's largest democracy fitting into its oldest.
Call Number: E184 .E2 C426 2017
Perfume Dreams: Reflections on the Vietnamese Diaspora by In his long-overdue first collection of essays, noted journalist and NPR commentator Andrew Lam explores his life-long struggle for identity as a Viet Kieu, or a Vietnamese national living abroad. At age 11, Lam came to California on the eve of the fall of Saigon. Reflecting on the meanings of the Vietnam War to the Vietnamese people themselves, Lam picks with searing honesty at the roots of his doubleness and his parents' longing for a homeland that no longer exists.
Call Number: E184.V53 L36 2005
This Is All I Choose to Tell by In the first book-length study of Vietnamese American literature, Isabelle Thuy Pelaud probes the complexities of Vietnamese American identity and politics. She provides an analytical introduction to the literature, showing how generational differences play out in genre and text. In addition, she asks, can the term Vietnamese American be disassociated from representations of the war without erasing its legacy? Pelaud delineates the historical, social, and cultural terrains of the writing as well as the critical receptions and responses to them. She moves beyond the common focus on the Vietnam war to develop an interpretive framework that integrates post-colonialism with the multi-generational refugee, immigrant, and transnational experiences at the centre of Vietnamese American narratives. Her readings of key works, such as Andrew Pham's Catfish and Mandala and Lan Cao's Monkey Bridge show how trauma, racism, class and gender play a role in shaping the identities of Vietnamese American characters and narrators.
Call Number: PS153.V54 P45 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Virtual Homelands: Indian Immigrants and Online Cultures in the United States by The internet has transformed the idea of home for Indians and Indian Americans. In Virtual Homelands: Indian Immigrants and Online Cultures in the United States, Madhavi Mallapragada analyzes home pages and other online communities organized by diasporic and immigrant Indians from the late 1990s through the social media period. Engaging the shifting aspects of belonging, immigrant politics, and cultural citizenship by linking the home page, household, and homeland as key sites, Mallapragada illuminates the contours of belonging and reveals how Indian American struggles over it trace back to the web's active mediation in representing, negotiating, and reimagining "home."
Call Number: E184.E2 M25 2014
Films | Streaming Media
Project Yellow Perceptions about Asian men and racism in the LGBT Community.
Call Number: Streaming Video - Films On Demand
Resilience by Resilience takes a look at a side of adoption rarely told: What happens after the reunion? Follows a Korean birth mother, Myung-ja, and her South Dakota-raised, American son, Brent, as they reunite and attempt to build a relationship amidst cultural clashes and an inability to speak one another's language.
Call Number: Streaming Video - Kanopy
The Slanted screen: Asian Men in Film and Television This award-winning documentary explores portrayals of Asian men in American cinema, chronicling the experience of actors who have struggled against Hollywood’s ethnic stereotyping and discriminatory practices
Call Number: Streaming Media - Films On Demand
Asian and Pacific Islander Population in the United States
Selected University Asian American Studies Guides
Photo taken April 5, 2009 by Nicholas Laughlin in Cacao, French Guiana. Creative Commons restricted license on Flickr. Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)
Articles from Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers
Use the e-resources / databases under the Research tab to search for articles. Academic Search Complete provides full text access to the following journals:
Chinese America: History & Perspectives
Chinese American Forum
Hmong Studies Journal
Other Online Publications:
Austin South Asian Monthly community newspaper with news from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and Afghanistan.
Hyphen Magazine "Hyphen is a news and culture magazine, media outlet and community partner, that illuminates Asian America through hard-hitting investigative features on the cultural and political trends shaping the fastest-growing ethnic population in the country."
May is Asian and Pacific American Heritage Month
[Image Source: Commemorative stamps, USPS]
Museums and Historical Sites