Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related ACC Library Subject Guides
Books and eBooks
Tree of Souls: The Mythology of Judaism by "Schwartz notes in his impressive introduction that some may be surprised at the idea of a Jewish mythology since Judaism is a monotheistic religion, meaning there can be no interaction among multiple gods, one of the hallmarks of mythology. Yet the Bible, Schwartz notes, is written so compactly that there is plenty of room for interpretation, and out of interpretation, mythology flowers." --Ilene Cooper, Booklist
Call Number: BM530 .S472 2007
Hanukkah in America by In New Orleans, Hanukkah means decorating your door with a menorah made of hominy grits. Latkes in Texas are seasoned with cilantro and cayenne pepper. Children in Cincinnati sing Hanukkah songs and eat oranges and ice cream. While each tradition springs from its own unique set of cultural references, what ties them together is that they all celebrate a holiday that is different in America than it is any place else.
Call Number: BM695.H3 A84 2013
Coming of Age in Jewish America by The Jewish practice of bar mitzvah dates back to the twelfth century, but this ancient cultural ritual has changed radically since then, evolving with the times and adapting to local conditions. For many Jewish-American families, a child's bar mitzvah or bat mitzvah is both a major social event and a symbolic means of asserting the family's ongoing connection to the core values of Judaism.
Call Number: BM707 .M86 2016
The Jewish Americans by Judaism is considered by many to be both an ethnicity and a religion. This dual relationship has made Jews in America distinct from other minority groups. From the colonial period to the late 20th and early 21st century, waves of immigrant Jews have influenced the practice and overall identity of the American Jewish community based on the places from which they came. Today, Israel's policy of automatically granting Jews around the world dual citizenship has created a strong tie to that country and further complicated the intricate relationship American Jews have with America.
Call Number: E184.35 .J48 2011 VOL. 5
Leaves from the Garden of Eden: One Hundred Classic Jewish Tales by "This book is a big, beguiling gem, changing colors as you tilt it toward the light. From one angle, it's a world of inventive adventures that children will love; from another angle, a collection of religious allegories that will engage and challenge adults; from yet another angle, a shimmering record of Jewish dreams." --JBooks.com
Call Number: GR98 .S343 2009
Jews and Baseball by Traces the arc of Jews in baseball after Hank Greenberg retired in 1948. During this post-war period, Jews saw greater acceptance into the American mainstream as organized anti-Semitism was largely displaced by greater affluence, education, and a more geographically dispersed Jewish community. Jews continued to flourish in baseball - new stars like Al Rosen, Sandy Koufax and Shawn Green debuted. This book further demonstrates how and why Jews and baseball have continued to grow together.
Call Number: GV865.A1 B645 2007 vol. 1 & 2
Julius Rosenwald: The Man Who Built Sears, Roebuck and Advanced the Cause of Black Education in the American South by Peter M. Ascoli brings to life a portrait of businessman and philanthropist Julius Rosenwald, the son of first-generation German Jewish immigrants, who fashioned Sears, Roebuck and Company into the greatest mail order firm in the world and also founded Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry. In the American South Rosenwald helped support the building of the more than 5,300 schools, many for African American children, that bore his name.
Call Number: HC102.5.R58 A83 2015
Jewish American Literature: A Norton Anthology by A "comprehensive anthology of Jewish American literature. Includes the works of 145 writers, from 1645 to the present, writing in all genres―fiction, poetry, drama, essays, letters, editorials, journals, autobiography, cartoons, song lyrics, and jokes."
Call Number: PS508.J4 J45 2001
Masterpieces of Jewish American Literature by Jewish Americans have produced some of the most imaginative, provocative, and widely read literary works of the 20th century. This book gives students and general readers an introduction to ten of the most significant works of Jewish American literarure.
Call Number: PS508.J4 M37 2007
May is Jewish American Heritage Month
Image: Microsoft Office Clip Art
Articles from Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers
Use the e-resources / databases under Research to find articles. Here is a selection of online publications.
The Jewish Daily Forward
"Launched as a Yiddish-language daily newspaper on April 22, 1897," the Forward now has an online presence in English.
"America's premier independent Jewish magazine. An open conversation on Jewish culture, politics, and religion, this magazine serves as a forum where diverse opinions converge."
World Jewish Daily
"Magazine confronting issues facing Israel and world Jewry featuring noted writers Natan Sharansky, Alan Dershowitz, Charles Krauthammer and more."
Use the Journal Finder get access to full text of these publications:
Full Text: 09/01/1990 to present
"Presents articles dealing with current events, with an emphasis on politics, social science and culture, with special interest in Jewish affairs."
Jewish Quarterly Review
Full Text: 07/01/2002 to present
"The oldest English-Language journal in the field of Jewish studies. In JQR the ancient stands alongisde the modern, the historical alongside the literary, the past alongside the present."
Jewish Social Studies
Full Text: 01/01/1975 to present
"Scientific research directed by recognized specialists on contemporary and historical aspects of Jewish life aimed at fostering a better understanding of the position of the Jews in the modern world."
Full Text: 01/01/2000 to present
"A Jewish critique of politics, culture & society."
Streaming Media | Films | Documentaries
America's First Synagogues "Tells the story of the Jewish pilgrims who founded Congregation Shearith Israel-a 'Remnant of Israel'-in 1654 in the Dutch trading post of New Amsterdam, modern day New York City. Touro Synagogue in Newport, RI, built in 1763, is the oldest continual Jewish house of worship in the U.S. Viewers will also learn about the history of Sephardic Jews who fled to the New World to escape the Spanish Inquisition...."
Call Number: Streaming Video - Films on Demand
A Life Apart: Hasidism in America by With their use of the Yiddish language, their distinctive clothes and their strict observance to Jewish ritual and law, the Hasidim are considered by many an insular people with little connection to mainstream America. And yet their values are those that many Americans find most precious: family, community and a life of meaning.
Call Number: Streaming Video - Kanopy | 96 min.