Library Career Databases - POFT 1171 - Huerta - Summer2023 - LibGuides at Austin Community College

Career Databases

The following databases in the library's collection will help you find articles from industry and trade magazines and journals. Some also include eBooks on topics like job preparation, career advancement and college readiness. Practice tests and college prep exams are also available. Click on more to get a full description of each database and what each has to offer.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Industry and professional articles, school planning resources, and skills and career advice.
LearningExpress Library Plus This link opens in a new window
This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing.Tutorials and e-books to help with job preparation, career advancement, and college readiness, as well as practice tests for the TOEFL, MCAT, ACT, GMAT, LSAT, GRE, and AP tests. Also includes Computer Skills, Job & Career Accelerator, and Adult Learning centers..
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from trade and industry magazines and journals.

ACC Databases

See a complete list of ACC Library Databases by Subject or by Title.

Reference Article Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.

Magazine/Newspaper/Journal Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of over one million images related to art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
ARTstor (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online art collection that includes thousands of images and articles on artists, eras, and movements.

Streaming Video Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Educational streaming videos for most subject areas.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
More than 26,000 streaming videos, including films from the Criterion Collection, festival circuit documentaries, and TV series. Kanopy (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.

Finding Articles Tutorial

Try out searching in some of the library databases with the Finding Articles Tutorial.

POFT 1171 - Huerta - Summer2023: Library Career Databases