Reference Sources

Chemistry Reference Sources

Reference works are collections of facts. These are works you refer to rather than read in their entirety. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and guides.

Reference works provide

background, overviews, summaries, outlines
definitions, formulas, chemical structures
assistance in narrowing or broadening a topic
bibliographies with citations to other works

Library Background Information Sources

Databases with Background Info on Chemistry Topics:

(Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries/reference sources)

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
You may need to accept a security certificate to use this resource off campus.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Reference works on chemical substances including their properties, manufacturing and uses.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Articles about biochemistry and physiology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, microbiology and plant science.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Scientific encyclopedia that addresses every scientific discipline, from anatomy to computer science to physics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.

CHEM 1111 - Topics - Allison: Reference Sources

Chemistry Reference Sources

Library Background Information Sources