LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Resources: Databases

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch provides articles that focus on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Transgender Healthcare The article reports discrimination in healthcare facilities for transgenders people in the U.S. and offers suggestions for serving transgender people with following protocols for hormone therapy, providing sexual health exams, and mental healthcare through gender specialist. Naturopathic Doctor News & Review. Feb2017, Vol. 13 Issue 2, p1-4.

Austin American-Statesman Online

Austin American-Statesman Online provides articles from 1989 - present.

Judge blocks child abuse investigations into transgender care: Order responds to suit filed by families, group An Austin judge issued a temporary restraining order Friday that prohibits state child-abuse investigations of a group of families that are providing gender-affirming medical care to their transgender adolescents. Austin American Statesman; Austin, Tex. [Austin, Tex]. 15 June 2022

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete provides articles from scholarly journals and news magazines on topics in economics, marketing, management, advertising, and accounting.

Promote Allyship and Amplification in the Workplace Employers can boost diversity, equity, and inclusion by teaching employees how to recognize others.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Reports from 1923 - present.

LGBTQ Rights There were advances and setbacks for LGBTQ+ rights in 2021. The Biden administration reversed policies that had rolled back transgender rights and called for passage of new legal protections. The Supreme Court left in place a lower court ruling that allowed a transgender student to use the boys’ bathroom. But the court also ruled that a Catholic social services agency could refuse to accept same-sex couples as foster parents. State lawmakers around the country introduced more than 250 bills aimed at restricting transgender rights. Many focus on preventing young transgender athletes from competing in school sports consistent with their gender identity, or banning doctors from providing transgender minors with gender-affirming treatments. However, nearly 150 U.S. companies signed a statement opposing these state measures, and more than 400 U.S. corporations urged Congress to pass new rights legislation. CQ Researcher November 4, 2021

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC (EBSCO) EBSCO's ERIC interface includes links to full-text where available.

Creating Safe and Inclusive Schools for LGTBQ Students Positive school climates foster an optimal learning environment in which students feel safe and supported, and are in a greater position to thrive in terms of academic performance, better relationships with peers and staff, and overall social-emotional well-being. Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer (LGBTQ) students often have to navigate more challenges and hostile school climates compared to their heterosexual peers because school practices, policies, and curricula tend to prioritize heteronormative structures. Significant work is required to challenge these structures, such as by implementing zero-tolerance policies, LGTBQ-inclusive curricula and mandatory professional development for educators, and by creating safe spaces for LGTBQ students within schools. BU Journal of Graduate Studies in Education, v13 n2 p17-21 202

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.

They tried to shut down Drag Story Hour. A Montana bookstore fought back When an LGBTQ-friendly reading even was targeted with hateful rhetoric, locals drowned out the protesters with a message of love and acceptance. Guardian News & Media September 28, 2022

Gale in Contest: Science

Gale Interactive Science provides millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, and other multimedia covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.

Long-Term Follow-Up of Transsexual Persons Undergoing Sex Reassignment Surgery: Cohort Study in Sweden.

HeinOnline Academic

HeinOnline Academic includes U.S. federal & state case law, as well as multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.

Introduction to HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights To continue honoring its core value of corporate citizenship, HeinOnline presents its newest addition to the Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.

Humanities Full Text

Humanities Full Text provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.

Gatekeeper persuasion and issue adoption: Amnesty International and the transnational LGBTQ network. Network theory is a valuable tool for understanding how transnational human rights advocacy emerges and develops; how norms become salient; and how nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) gain prominence within networks. This article evaluates political network theory through the case study of the transnational lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) advocacy network. Through interviews with key figures at human rights and LGBTQ NGOs, I suggest that the transnational LGBTQ network emerged through contestation with the human rights gatekeeper, Amnesty International, and its US section, AIUSA. This process of contestation would produce a specific type of gatekeeper activism that would become a defining feature of the network. Over time, the network would evolve from a collection of national groups engaging in direct action to a highly professional and international network with a dual focus on movement building in the Global South and the advancement of LGBTQ rights at the United Nations. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] Journal of Human Rights; Apr-Jun2018, Vol. 17 Issue 2, p245-264

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts indexes core journals, books, research reports, and proceedings in the library and information science field.

LGBTQ-Inclusive Collections The article discusses LGBTQ inclusive collections in school libraries. It explores that attacks on the LGBTQ+ community may make some school librarians hesitant to purchase Queer stories and information. Topics include LGBT identification increasing as younger generations are more likely to consider themselves to be something other than heterosexual or cisgender. Knowledge Quest. Mar/Apr2022, Vol. 50 Issue 4

MasterFILE Complete

MasterFILE Complete provides articles on most topics including business, health, education, science, and social issues.

Advancing information practices theoretical discourses centered on marginality, community, and embodiment: Learning from the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual (LGBTQIA+) communities This conceptual paper identifies future directions for information practices theoretical discourses addressing marginality, community, and embodiment. We extend arguments from critical research identifying how existing discourses fail to capture the nuanced, lived experiences of people and communities confronting marginalization, predominantly via their reinforcement of deficit narratives. We then connect a series of qualitative projects examining the information practices of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual communities in the American South with relevant Library and Information Science (LIS) research to examine how marginality, community, and embodiment shape these practices. Specifically, we introduce a conceptual model that describes marginality by framing information practices as tactical and agentic responses to and refutations of social and structural barriers and risks. Journal of the Association for Information Science & Technology. Apr2022, Vol. 73 Issue 4, p494-510

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus provides articles from hundreds of domestic and international newspapers and news magazines.

LGBTQ-friendly housing project to break ground in Boston BOSTON (AP) ” A Boston housing project that's billed as New England's first LGBTQ-friendly senior affordable housing project is breaking ground Friday. The Pryde will convert the former William Barton Rogers Middle School in Boston's Hyde Park neighborhood into 74 units of mixed-income housing for seniors. AP Regional State Report - Massachusetts. 06/17/2022

PubMed

PubMed searches Medline, and includes content from journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health. Limit your search to articles types like systematic reviews or randomized controlled trials by clicking on the filters.

A long-term follow-up study of mortality in transsexuals receiving treatment with cross-sex hormones

SocINDEX with Full Text

SocINDEX with Full Text provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.

LGBTQ@NASA and Beyond: Work Structure and Workplace Inequality among LGBTQ STEM Professionals Scholars are just beginning to understand how organizational processes shape LGBTQ workplace inequality. Using multimethod data from STEM professionals, this article examines how one such factor—the way work tasks are structured within organizations—may impact LGBTQ workers' experiences of marginalization and devaluation. Through interviews with STEM professionals at two NASA space flight centers with different work structures, we find that LGBTQ professionals at the NASA center where work is organized in dynamic project-based teams experienced less inclusive and respectful interactions with colleagues, in part because they had to rapidly establish credibility and develop new status management strategies each time they were shuffled into new teams. The stability of the traditional unit-based structure at the other NASA center, by contrast, allowed LGBTQ professionals time to navigate status management and build trust. This stability also facilitated LGBTQ community building. Work & Occupations. May2022, Vol. 49 Issue 2, p187-228

Statista

Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources in business and government.

LGBTQ+ worldwide

TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch includes information on hot topics from newspapers, periodicals, and government sources.

The Transgender Culture War In this article, the author reflects upon transgendered people in the U.S. Particular focus is given to how this relates to the history of LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender) rights in the U.S. including the supreme court case Lawrence v. Texas and the book "The City and the Pillar," by Gore Vidal. Additional topics discussed include depictions of transgender people in popular culture, Millennial culture and political correctness in the media. National Review, 6/13/2016, Vol. 68 Issue 10

U.S. South Central Newsstream

US South Central Newsstream‎ provides regional news and archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text.

Biden Hits Back at Anti-LGBTQ State Bills With Executive Order: “You are loved. You are understood. You do belong,” the president told LGBTQ activists as he signed the order President Joe Biden has made it clear that “gay” will remain in his vocabulary despite a rising number of anti-LGBTQ+ state bills being passed across the country. he Daily Beast, New York: The Newsweek/Daily Beast Company LLC. Jun 15, 2022.

The Washington Post

The Washington Post includes articles from 1987 to the present.

Sweeping Title IX changes would shield trans students, abuse survivors On the 50th anniversary of Title IX, the Biden administration proposed sweeping changes to the landmark law that would bar schools, colleges and universities from discriminating against transgender students, as the battle over transgender rights moves to the front lines of the culture war. he Washington Post (Online), Washington, D.C.: WP Company LLC d/b/a The Washington Post. Jun 23, 2022.