| Microcertificate | Technical Competencies | Professional Competencies |
|
Students completing this microcertificate will be able to: |
|
|
Thinking by
Thinking: A Guide to Systems Engineering Problem-Solving focuses upon articulating ways of thinking in today's world of systems and systems engineering. It also explores how the old masters made the advances they made, hundreds of years ago. Taken together, these considerations represent new ways of problem solving and new pathways to answers for modern times. Special areas of interest include types of intelligence, attributes of superior thinkers, systems architecting, corporate standouts, barriers to thinking, and innovative companies and universities. This book provides an overview of more than a dozen ways of thinking, to include: Inductive Thinking, Deductive Thinking, Reductionist Thinking, Out-of-the-Box Thinking, Systems Thinking, Design Thinking, Disruptive Thinking, Lateral Thinking, Critical Thinking, Fast and Slow Thinking, and Breakthrough Thinking. With these thinking skills, the reader is better able to tackle and solve new and varied types of problems. Features Proposes new approaches to problem solving for the systems engineer Compares as well as contrasts various types of Systems Thinking Articulates thinking attributes of the great masters as well as selected modern systems engineers Offers chapter by chapter thinking exercises for consideration and testing Suggests a "top dozen" for today's systems engineers
Critical Systems Thinking and the Management of Complexity by
From the winner of the INCOSE Pioneer Award 2022 The world has become increasingly networked and unpredictable. Decision makers at all levels are required to manage the consequences of complexity every day. They must deal with problems that arise unexpectedly, generate uncertainty, are characterised by interconnectivity, and spread across traditional boundaries. Simple solutions to complex problems are usually inadequate and risk exacerbating the original issues. Leaders of international bodies such as the UN, OECD, UNESCO and WHO -- and of major business, public sector, charitable, and professional organizations -- have all declared that systems thinking is an essential leadership skill for managing the complexity of the economic, social and environmental issues that confront decision makers. Systems thinking must be implemented more generally, and on a wider scale, to address these issues. An evaluation of different systems methodologies suggests that they concentrate on different aspects of complexity. To be in the best position to deal with complexity, decision makers must understand the strengths and weaknesses of the various approaches and learn how to employ them in combination. This is called critical systems thinking. Making use of over 25 case studies, the book offers an account of the development of systems thinking and of major efforts to apply the approach in real-world interventions. Further, it encourages the widespread use of critical systems practice as a means of ensuring responsible leadership in a complex world. The INCOSE Pioneer Award is presented to someone who, by their achievements in the engineering of systems, has contributed uniquely to major products or outcomes enhancing society or meeting its needs. The criteria may apply to a single outstanding outcome or a lifetime of significant achievements in effecting successful systems. Comments on a previous version of the book: Russ Ackoff: 'the book is the best overview of the field I have seen' JP van Gigch: 'Jackson does a masterful job. The book is lucid ...well written and eminently readable' Professional Manager (Journal of the Chartered Management Institute): 'Provides an excellent guide and introduction to systems thinking for students of management'
Digital Fluency by
If you are curious about the basics of artificial intelligence, blockchain technology, and quantum computing as key enablers for digital transformation and innovation, Digital Fluency is your handy guide. The real-world applications of these cutting-edge technologies are expanding rapidly, and your daily life will continue to be affected by each of them. There is no better time than now to get started and become digitally fluent. You need not have previous knowledge of these versatile technologies, as author Volker Lang will expertly guide you through this digital age. He illustrates key concepts and applications in numerous practical examples and more than 48 catchy figures throughout Digital Fluency. The end of each chapter presents you with a helpful implementation checklist of central lessons before proceeding to the next. This book gets to the heart of digital buzzwords and concepts, and tells you what they truly mean. Breaking down topics such as automated driving and intelligent robotics powered by artificial intelligence, blockchain-based cryptocurrencies and smart contracts, drug development and optimization of financial investment portfolios by quantum computing, and more is imperative to being ready for what the future of industry holds. Whether your own digital transformation journey takes place within your private or public organization, your studies, or your individual household, Digital Fluency maps out a concrete digital action plan for all of your technology and innovation strategy needs. What You Will Learn Gain guidance in the digital age without requiring any previous knowledge about digital technologies and digital transformation Get acquainted with the most popular current and prospective applications of artificial intelligence, blockchain technology, and quantum computing across a wide range of industries including healthcare, financial services, and the automobile industry Become familiar with the digital innovation models of Amazon, Google, Microsoft, IBM, and other world-leading organizations Implement your own digital transformation successfully along the eight core dimensions of a concrete digital action plan Who This Book Is For Thought-leaders, business executives and industry strategists, management and strategy consultants, politicians and policy makers, entrepreneurs, financial analysts, investors and venture capitalists, students and research scientists, as well as general readers, who want to become digitally fluent.
Strategic Project Management Made Simple by
Learn to plan and execute projects in any organization with this practical and insightful resource The comprehensively updated and revised edition of Strategic Project Management Made Simple cements this series' status as the leading resource for anyone looking for step-by-step guidance on project design and action initiatives. Written by celebrated management consultant Terry Schmidt, this book fully covers the necessity of systems thinking and the logical framework approach to solve today's challenging problems. Strategic Project Management Made Simple also includes: An expanded section on turning ideas, problems, and opportunities into projects A newly created chapter on managing your "inner game" to achieve project excellence Fresh case studies that cover how to pivot your business to meet changing needs A new approach, Iterating to Excellence, to create your Minimum Viable Project and produce solutions smoother and faster Strategic Project Management Made Simple, Revised and Updated is an indispensable volume for leaders and workers seeking to transform their approach to planning, driving, and executing projects in their organizations.
Project Management, Planning and Control by
Project Management, Planning and Control, Managing Engineering, Construction and Manufacturing Projects to PMI, APM and BSI Standards, Seventh Editions an established and widely recommended project management handbook. Building on its clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, this seventh edition includes new advice on information management, including big data, communication, dispute resolution, project governance, and BIM. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, the book is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM), and includes questions and answers to help users test their understanding. Includes new sections on data collection and use, including big data Contains major updates to sections on governance, adjudication, BIM, and agile project management Focused on the needs and challenges of project managers in engineering, manufacturing and construction, and closely aligned to the content of the APM and PMI 'bodies of knowledge' Provides project management questions and answers compiled by a former APM exam assessor
Harvard Business Review project management handbook : how to launch, lead, and sponsor successful projects by 
HBR's 10 must reads on creativity. by ● Creative Thinking: Synthesize existing ideas, images, or expertise in original ways to develop innovative concepts utilizing digital media.
Winning the Room by
Revolutionize your data-driven presentations with this simple and actionable guide In Winning The Room: Creating and Delivering an Effective Data-Driven Presentation, analytics and data science expert Bill Franks delivers a practical and eye-opening exploration of how to present technical data and results to non-technical audiences in a live setting. Although framed with examples from the analytics and data science space, this book is perfect for anyone expected to present data-driven information to others. The book offers various specific tips and strategies that will make data-driven presentations much clearer, more intuitive, and easier to understand. Readers will discover: How to avoid common mistakes that undercut a presentation's credibility Instructive and eye-catching visuals that illustrate how to drive a presenter's points home and help the reader to retain the information Specific and actionable techniques to dramatically improve a presentation's clarity and impact Ideal for anyone expected to present to managers, executives, and other business leaders, Winning The Room is required reading for everyone seeking to improve the quality and efficacy of their data-driven presentations and communications.
● Oral Communication: Create an oral presentation designed to increase knowledge, to foster understanding, or to promote change in the listeners' attitudes, values, beliefs, or behaviors utilizing digital media.
Problem-Solving by
Problem-solving and better thinking skills are among the top skills that employers are looking for. This book presents various methods of problem-solving that can be adapted to any field. It focuses on a set of a dozen new approaches with an ending result to finding better solutions to problems that you may have previously found difficult. The book discusses problem-solving based upon new thinking skills and presents the relationship between problem-solving and creativity. A connection between problem-solving and re-engineering is presented as the book explores the ability to tackle new and difficult problems in all aspects of life. It points you in the direction of how to easily find better solutions to problems that previously were found to be difficult. Target audience is general engineers, systems engineers, scientists, technologists, mathematicians, and lawyers.
● Problem Solving: Design, evaluate, and implement a strategy to achieve the desired goal utilizing digital media.
The Eight Essential People Skills for Project Management by
Zachary Wong offers practical strategies, skills, and tools to help project managers diagnose and solve their toughest people problems. Based on decades in the trenches, the book shows how to confront and correct bad behavior, increase team performance and inclusion, turn around difficult people and poor performers, get people to do what you want them to do, boost employee motivation and attitude, reduce change resistance and risk aversion, and manage difficult bosses. Wong believes that the best team leaders are problem-solvers and facilitators, so this book provides problem-solving models and tools to diagnose people problems, and facilitative methods, processes, and techniques to correct them. It's an approach that can be personalized to fit any person or situation. Each skill is explained with a well-balanced mix of case stories, examples, strategies, processes, tools, and techniques along with illustrations, graphics, tables, and other visuals to clarify key concepts and their workplace application. To reinforce the most important learnings, Wong includes a "Memory Card" and "Skill Summary" at the end of each chapter. Nothing is harder than leading people and managing project teams. Being successful takes a combination of knowing human psychology, organizational behaviors, and human factors; having supervisory, process, and communication skills; ensuring good teamwork, high integrity, and strong leadership; and having the ability to integrate and apply these skills to a diverse work team. The Eight Essential People Skills for Project Management is designed for individuals, team leaders, and managers who oversee and coordinate the daily performance of others and who are seeking solutions that they can apply immediately.
● Teamwork: Demonstrate the ability to interact and contribute to team tasks utilizing digital media.
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers by
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers is a writing guidebook with street-smarts. It recognizes the unique communication challenges entrepreneurs face and offers clear action steps for tackling them. As an entrepreneur with a pioneering product or service to offer the world, you can't rely on cookie-cutter communication templates to get your meaning across. You need a set of writing strategies that are quick to implement and easy to adapt to a wide variety of communication situations, from emails to pitch decks. Dawn Henwood provides a simple, flexible approach to writing that will open your eyes to the subtle ways written communication can engage and motivate your target audience. Whether you are just starting your business or scaling up to the next level of success, you'll find Dawn's straightforward teaching just the help you need to make your message heard. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients.
● Written Communication: Develop and express ideas using digital media by combining different writing technologies, and mixing texts, data, and images.