Digital Scholarship Tools: OA Publishing Platforms

arXiv  is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,186,475 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.  Pre-prints are pre-peer review manuscripts shared for open comment, as is common practice in these disciplines.

• Any researcher can make their pre-prints available openly in arXiv

• Create an account and use the arXiv platform to submit your work.

The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the only large and "representative" corpus of American English. COCA is probably the most widely-used corpus of English, and it is related to many other corpora of English that we have created. These corpora were formerly known as the "BYU Corpora", and they offer unparalleled insight into variation in English.

The corpus contains more than one billion words of text (25+ million words each year 1990-2019) from eight genres: spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, academic texts, and (with the update in March 2020): TV and Movies subtitles, blogs, and other web pages.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to over 63,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

An independent index of high-quality open access scholarly journals in all disciplines and languages. There are basic quality assessment criteria for journals to be included in DOAJ. It is supported by libraries and publishers.

Libraria is a collective of researchers based in the social sciences who, drawing on the expertise of librarians, publishers, and other stakeholders, seek to bring about a more open, diverse, community-controlled scholarly communication system.

Direct to Open harnesses the collective power of libraries to support open and equitable access to vital, leading scholarship. Developed over two years with the generous support of the Arcadia Fund, in close collaboration with the library community, D2O:

• Opens access to new MIT Press scholarly monographs and edited collections (~90 titles per year) from 2022 via recurring participation fees.
• Provides participating libraries with term access to backlist/archives (~2,500 titles), which would otherwise be gated.
• Covers partial direct costs for the publication of high-quality works that are also available for print purchase.

The leading independent Open Access publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK: not-for-profit, run by scholars, and committed to making high-quality research freely available to readers around the world. Access all the books online or download them for free, with no Book Processing Charges (BPCs) for authors.

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an award-winning, academic-led, diamond open-access publisher of 28 journals based at Birkbeck, University of London. All of their journals’ academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review, and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research in humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities. 

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. They monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. They also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. This index currently contains 2,636,438 entries categorized in 5,846 categories. PhilPapers has over 320,000 registered users.

punctum books, founded in Brooklyn, New York in 2011, and now incorporated in Santa Barbara, California as a public benefit corporation co-directed by Eileen A. Fradenburg Joy and Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei, is an independent queer- and scholar-led, community-formed, and peer-reviewed Sparkly Diamond open-access (OA) publisher devoted to academic and para-academic authors working in any field in the humanities, social sciences, fine arts, and architecture & design who want to publish books that are genre-queer and genre-bending and which take experimental risks with the forms and styles of intellectual writing. 

ScholarLed is a consortium of scholar-led, not-for-profit, open access book publishers that was formed in 2018. Individually we comprise Mattering Press, meson press, Open Book Publishers, punctum books, African Minds, and mediastudies.press, and collectively we are seeking to develop powerful, practical ways for small-scale, scholar-led Open Access presses to grow and flourish in a publishing landscape that is changing rapidly.

Worldreader works globally with partners to support vulnerable and underserved communities with digital reading solutions that help improve learning outcomes, workforce readiness, and gender equity.