ACC's Office of Institutional Effectiveness & Accountability collects and publishes research and statistics about the College.
This government website contains demographic information about the people in the state of Texas. Much of the data it contains is relevant to controversial topics and policies.
This government website contains open data published by state agencies and institutions of higher education, grouped into twelve broad categories for easy browsing.
This government website contains data about the U.S., including maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
The web version of the “alternative” weekly publication. Selected articles are available in full text for the past two or three years. Up-to-date listings of cultural and social events are a strong point.
Built-in partnership with the Austin American-Statesman, this site features news, videos, classifieds, and weather info.
The University of Texas student newspaper’s online edition. Almost all the articles are available in full text the day of publication. Earlier issues are also available.
Breaking news, weather, sports, and video.
Local news and investigative reports.
Austin's NPR station. News on national and local issues
This site has links to almost anything you would like to know about the city and its services. Type of information includes Austin Police Department, the Austin Public Library, local roadwork projects, and much more.
Travis County elects several individuals to manage local government, including county commissioners, county judge, and sheriff. This site has information about these offices, plus pages concerning voter registration and the latest local election results.
The LCRA is a public entity that manages water, land, and power issues surrounding the lower reaches of the Colorado River in Texas.
This is the official website for Williamson County.
This is the official website for the city of Round Round, TX.
This is the official website of the City of Kyle, TX.
This is the official website for Bastrop County.
The Internet is a fantastic place to find great sources, but it is also a fantastic place to find not-so-great sources.
Learning how to evaluate information is one of the most important skills you will learn at ACC. Anyone can publish on the web. The goal is to be proactive about deciding if the information is reliable or contains bad information.
Tips:
Click on the Evaluation Sub Tab to learn more!