Pamela Carlile: CV

Pamela Carlile

EDUCATION

Master of Science in Information Studies, University of Texas, Austin, TX

Master of Arts in Literature, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX

Bachelor of Arts in English, Minor in Spanish, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX

 

LIBRARY EXPERIENCE

Head Librarian, Austin Community College, Riverside Campus, Austin, TX, January 2024-Present

• Manage library services functions, including selection, supervision, development and evaluation of Library Services faculty and staff; the coordination of library functions and services with other library, TLED, campus and college activities and services.
• Makes recommendations, reports, and actively participates in strategic planning, budget preparation, expenditure, and assessment. Gathers and reports data on Library Services functions and services.
• Participates in facilities design, and management, and Library Services public relations.
• Provides basic reference services, online services, and selective dissemination of information needed for students, faculty, administration, staff, and the community.
• Serves on the Library Leadership Team, and participates in the Library Services, Teaching and Learning Excellence (TLED), and college-wide committees and meetings.
• Develops and maintains library policies, procedures, and services, and may coordinate college-wide library responsibilities; including reference, off-campus/extension services, information literacy, collection management, access services, library technology, and web presence.
• Establishes and maintains effective working relationships with colleagues in the college, local, state, regional, and national library and academic communities.
• Coordinates library activities with community agencies as appropriate.
• Participates in the development and delivery of the LS information literacy instruction and library instructional program.

Branch Manager, New Braunfels Public Library, New Braunfels, TX, June 2022-January 2024

• Effectively managed daily operations and scheduled staff for an 8,800 square foot library branch.
• Supervised 1 full-time and 4 part-time staff members at the Westside branch, which included hiring, orienting, training, assigning and reviewing work performance, and annual work performance evaluations.
• Oversaw employee hiring process for Westside branch, including organizing interview panels, guiding applicant questions, and directing onboarding processes.
• Provided superior customer service by using in-depth knowledge of library resources and research methods to assist patrons with locating materials and information, as well as instruction and assistance to patrons using library computers, software, databases, and equipment.
• Created online circulation training modules using Niche Academy to make the onboarding and training process for new employees more effective and efficient.
• Evaluated, selected, and ordered over 10,000 items for the new branch. Performed original and copy MARC cataloging and authority work for books, audiovisual materials, and Spanish language materials going into the new branch.

Programming and Outreach Librarian, San Marcos Public Library, San Marcos, TX, June 2018-June 2022

• Created programs for patrons of all ages. Evaluated all programs to improve future programs.
• Prepared detailed statistics and reports on program attendance.
• Using Microsoft Excel spreadsheets and formulas, created a new procedure for reporting data which enabled colleagues to utilize data to plan for future programs.
• Reviewed, selected, purchased, and de-accessioned materials for the young adult and bilingual/Spanish picture book collections, while ensuring that the collection reflects the needs and diversity of the community.
• Provided professional research assistance, instruction, and readers advisory using standard reference materials, including online sources, to answer patrons’ reference questions.
• Trained, scheduled, and supervised teen volunteers. Updated volunteer forms and training materials and put them together into an organized training guide. Created an online volunteer program for teens when COVID-19 began.
• Promoted the programs, collections, and services of the library by preparing publicity fliers and press releases, creating graphics demonstrating library usage by the public, creating a monthly newsletter and calendar of events, and writing a weekly “Answers to Go” column for the local newspaper.
• Developed the library’s online community engagement by establishing priorities and an action plan, creating content for social media and the website, monitoring usage and effectiveness.
• Created tutorials to show patrons how to access our eResources, place holds online, and find readalikes using NoveList. Created and maintained brochures on how to get a library card, how to use digital resources, and how to join the Friends of the Library.
• Prepared physical book displays for the young adult collection. Prepared online bibliographies and displays featuring materials from the library collection for our Facebook page.
• Made public presentations about library programs at community events.

Children’s Services Intern, Buda Public Library, Buda, TX, January 2018-April 2018

• Planned and executed STEAM themed story times for children aged 3-5.
• Planned and executed STEAM family programs for children aged 3-10.
• Conducted outcome-based evaluation for STEAM programs.
• Researched and selected resources for circulating STEAM kits for children aged 3-6.
• Performed collection development of STEAM themed fiction and non-fiction books for children aged 3-10.

Borrower Services Library Assistant, University of Texas, Austin, TX, May 2017-May 2018

• Supervised and scheduled undergraduate workers at the Perry-Castañeda Library circulation desk.
• Provided access to library services to visiting scholars and members of the public, as well as consulted daily with patrons to troubleshoot account issues and problems with online access to library materials.
• Provided basic reference service to patrons in-person and on the phone.

 

TEACHING EXPERIENCE

English Department Teaching Assistant, University of Texas, Austin, TX, August 2016-May 2017

• Facilitated weekly discussion sessions for 50 British Literature students that focused on teaching close reading skills.
• Met with students during office hours to discuss assignments, grades, and class performance.
• Graded and gave feedback to student exams and quizzes.

English Teacher, San Marcos Academy, San Marcos, TX, August 2013-December 2014

• Taught 12th grade British literature, 10th grade world literature, and 9th-12th grade technical writing.
• Developed lessons and instructed 9th through 12th grade students, based on TEKS Standards and College Readiness Standards.
• Assessed student learning formally and informally using a variety of assessments and grading rubrics.
• Worked with a diverse population of students, including many international students and ESL students.
• Established positive rapport with students, parents, and critical family members.

Lecturer, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX, August 2012-June 2013

• Designed and taught English 1310 and 1320 classes for first-year college students.
• Conducted conferences with students for each major paper assignment to address individual goals and progress.
• Taught students to conduct research and to critically evaluate the quality of sources.
• Evaluated student writing with an emphasis on skills that are transferable to other classes and contexts.

English Department Teaching Assistant, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX, August 2011-July 2012

• Assisted lead professor in teaching undergraduate literature courses.
• Graded and gave feedback to 200 students' papers and exams.
• Attended regular office hours and met with students in study and review sessions.

 

OTHER EXPERIENCE

Information Technology Technician, Grande Communications, San Marcos, TX, January 2015-August 2016

• Diagnosed, performed troubleshooting, and resolved a range of software, hardware and connectivity issues for customers and 600 Grande employees.

• Performed installations, hardware repairs, maintenance, technical assistance, and support on Windows XP, 7, 10, and MAC OS X computers.
• Worked with the network administrator as needed.

 

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

• Councilor for Queers and Allies Round Table (QART), Texas Library Association, 2024-Present
• Secretary/Webmaster for Supervision, Management, and Administration Round Table, Texas Library Association, 2024-2025
• TALL Texans (Texas Accelerated Library Leaders), Class of 2023
• Treasurer for Supervision, Management, and Administration Round Table, Texas Library Association, 2023-2024
• L.E.A.P. (Leading Effectively & Achieving Progress), City of New Braunfels, June-September 2023
• Harassment Prevention for Supervisors, City of New Braunfels, March 2023
• How to Coach for Success, City of New Braunfels, December 2022
• How to Manage Change, City of New Braunfels, November 2022
• How to Address Performance Concerns, City of New Braunfels, October 2022
• LAUNCH Leadership Program, Texas Library Association, Fall 2020
• Member of Public Relations and Marketing Committee, Texas Library Association, 2018-2021

 

TECH SKILLS

• Data Visualization: Adobe InDesign, Adobe Photoshop, Canva, Microsoft Excel, Piktochart
• ILS: Biblionix Apollo, Sierra, SirsiDynix Workflows, and TLC
• Video Editing: Adobe Premiere Pro, Lightworks
• Website Design: CivicPlus, Google Sites, Wix, WordPress