To see a full list of your required readings with links to access electronic and print copies, use the following chart linked to below:
Holton Required Readings Chart
Links to each required story are listed on the chart by the digital platform or location from which they are available. For instructions on how to use each platform/location, see the boxes below.
ACC offers free eBook checkout to all ACC students, faculty, and staff. You will be prompted to log-in with you ACCeID and password before you can access or check out eBooks from the ACC library collection.
To access your required readings, use the links under the column labeled ACC Library Online Collection. From the links provided in the chart, click on the View Now button to access the eBook; then enter your ACCeID:
After logging in, you will be taken directly to the eBook. you may read the story by choosing the title of the story from the table of contents and using the arrows found at the top right or bottom of the page.
The Internet Archive is an online library of digitized print books that are available, with some restrictions, for checkout for free for either 1-hour or 14-day loan periods.
You must create a free account and log-in to borrow books from The Internet Archive. You may create an account on this page by choosing Sign-Up at the top right of the page:
To access your required readings from The Internet Archive, use the links on the chart under the column labeled The Internet Archive. Click the 'Log In and Borrow' button and then enter your log-in information. You may be prompted to select a borrowing period for the item; from the available options, pick the one that best fits your needs. You should then be directed to the book which you can navigate through using the numbered arrows at the bottom of the page.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free ebooks. You can choose among the free EPUB and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. Project Gutenberg eBooks require no special apps or accounts to read.
To access your required readings from Project Gutenberg, use the links in the chart under the column labeled Project Gutenberg. From the next page, select your preferred reading option (e.g. Kindle, EPUB); to read it directly from the web choose the first option listed - Read Online (Web).
When available links have been provided to print copies of the required stories in the ACC Library print collection. Copies may be located at any of our 11 locations so make sure to check where the book is located.
If the copy is located at another campus than the one you attend you can request to have the book sent from its home library to your campus using the Request This Copy link, but do keep in mind that it can take up to 7 days for a book to travel between campuses.
Austin Public Library offers free eBook checkout to members of the public who have an Austin Public Library card. You may apply for an Austin Public Library card on this page.
To access your required readings from the Austin Public Library collection, use the links on the chart under the column labeled Austin Public Library. Click on the green Checkout Now button on the right side of the page (this will appear if there is a copy available for checkout):
Or click the green button Place Hold to be added to a waiting list for the item (this will appear if all copies are currently in use):
Login to your Austin Public Library account using your card number and password that you created and follow the download instructions to checkout the book.