Databases are like digital filing cabinets for storing and organizing information. Check out the library's databases so you can access academic journals (think of a specialized magazine for scholars and researchers) and high quality academic articles. These are the types of sources your college instructors (and maybe future employers!) will expect you to use.
Most of our databases include tools that automatically generate citations for every article, video, eBook that you open. The citation tools may look different depending on which database you use. Look for the icons below in your resources to quickly access a citation that you can copy and past into your assignment. Don't forget to check these auto-generated citations for occasional errors (use the ACC Library Style Guides!)
Here are some ACC Library databases that may be helpful to your ENGL 2311 assignment. Remember, you may be prompted to log in with your ACC eID after clicking on the links. To see the complete list of ACC Library Databases , click here.
Reference Article Databases - A good place to start when you are getting familiar with your topic. Encyclopedias are excellent for giving you foundational information.
Sources for Industry Trends Reports
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Trusted data on jobs, wages, and trends.
Occupational Handbook - Explore careers: duties, salaries, outlook, and more.
Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources in business and government.
Gale eBooks
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Magazines, Newspaper, Journal Article Databases- These databases contain periodicals which publish information in a series, or periodically (hence the name). Daily newspapers, monthly magazines and journals are all periodicals and the articles inside them are periodical articles. Check out the following databases to start researching your specific topic.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.
JSTOR
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters and other primary sources.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.
The New York Times
All ACC faculty, students and staff have full access to The New York Times website. You must first register using your ACC email at Access NYTimes. More information can be found at The New York Times: Academic Pass Guide.
The Washington Post
Articles from 1987 to present
The Wall Street Journal
All ACC faculty, students and staff have unlimited access to WSJ.com, WSJ apps, podcasts, curated newsletters and more. You must first register using your ACC email at WSJ.com/AustinCC. More information can be found at The Wall Street Journal: Membership Program.
Try out searching in some of the library databases with the Finding Articles Tutorial.
