Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Personal Finance and Financial Literacy: Reference Works

Financial Literacy (Personal Finance) is taught in the Finance Department. However, every college student needs to take care of their own life.

Reference Works

Generally, the category of works we call "reference" includes almanacs, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, guidebooks, handbooks, indexes, manuals, yearbooks—materials we "refer" to rather than read entirely. Go to these for definitions, formulas, codes, standards, and topic overviews or background information.

Search Strategy

Library Resources

Sometimes the Internet is not the best or fastest resource to use to get information. There are many excellent financial encyclopedias and dictionaries in the reference areas of campus libraries as well as books that can be borrowed from the library. There are also e-books that can be read online. Look for the ebooksymbol.

To search for books and videos on financial management, go to the library web search. You can search by call number (HD-HJ), to browse the collection online.

Financial-Related call numbers:

HD Industry
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public Finance
TX Home Economics
 

You can also search by keywords and phrases, such as personal finance, financial literacy, accounting, banks, banking, budgets, credit, debt, finance, finance, lending, stocks, etc. You can use such terms to search periodical indexes for magazine and journal articles or to search the Internet.

Remember that you can ask a reference librarian to assist you with your research, in person in the library, by telephone, or online.

Reference Shelf - Online Selected Works--Personal Finance

for searching only the titles devoted to business

Gale eBooks Business titles

for searching only the Business & Management Section of ORO

Online E-Books

Online, full-text Electronics books accessible from on or off campus

Downloading Ebooks (Electronics Books)

Subject Guide

Linda Clement's picture
Linda Clement
Contact:
Faculty Librarian / Professor
Austin Community College
Cypress Creek Campus Library
1555 Cypress Creek Road
Room 2121.6
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Email: lclement@austincc.edu
512-223-2033
Website

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College