Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This thirteen-part series contains 10 one-hour and 3 half-hour video programs. Visitors will need to register to watch the programs. The programs cover topics like "The Western", "The Studio System", and "The Film School Generation".
National Film Preservation Foundation - The Film Preservation Guide
The 138-page guide describes methods for handling, duplicating, making available, and storing film.
Online Film Dictionary
Searchable dictionary of cinematic terminology in foreign languages.
Silent Era : The silent film website
A collection of news and information pertaining to silent era films.
A web-based news and culture magazine that covers all media. Includes reviews of film, television and radio, as well as, discussions about the cultural impact of media.
European Film Gateway
The portal to Europe's cultural and scientific history, the European Film Gateway (EFG) provides access to a large collection of historical film documents, mainly from European film archives. Currently the database contains over 550,000 items, nearly all of which are images, though it includes 26,000-plus videos and 10,000-plus texts.
Lantern: Media History Virtual Library
A search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized texts from the the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. A co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.