Skip to main content
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Medical Laboratory Technology: Mobile Apps & Tools

Resources for medical laboratory technicians and phlebotomists

EBSCOhost

The EBSCOhost app provides access to all ACC EBSCO databases, including CINAHL Complete, HealthSource-Nursing/Academic Edition, Medline and others.

Tip: This app searches MANY article databases. Go into the settings if you want to only search a particular database, such as the ones listed above.

To get started, click any of the links above, and scroll to the bottom of the page for the iPhone and Android Apps link. Then follow the instructions. Stuck? Contact Steve Self.

PubMed for Handhelds

PubMed for Handhelds is an app that provides access to several tools from the National Library of Medicine for searching their extensive journal databases. The ones you might find most useful are:

  • PICO Search -- allows you to focus searches based on Patient/Intervention/Comparison/Outcome
  • askMedline -- allows you to enter a search in natural language which is then parsed into a literature search

Note: this app does not limit to ACC journal and database holdings. You will likely retrieve many resources to which we may not necessarily have access. See the app's website for more details.

Canopy Speak

Canopy Speak App Icon

A free app is available for ACC students and faculty that may help you communicate with patients who speak other languages in clinical situations. The Canopy Speak app, now available for iOS and Android, lets you search for common yes/no medical questions and then  speaks and displays them on your device. The access code for unlocking the app is: 8822. Contact Steve Self if this code doesn't work.

Micromedex Solutions

Micromedex is a drug database that provides detailed dosage, contraindications, mechanism of action, patient education and other data. It accompanies our full version of Micromedex.

To access, this app, open Micromedex on your device, then scroll down and click on the gray "Download Mobile Apps" link. If you're having trouble accessing the app, contact Steve Self.

NRC Plus

NRC Plus is the app for Nursing Resource Center Plus, a point-of-care evidence tool designed to answer nurses' clinical questions quickly. It provides access to evidence-based care sheet, drug guides, skill competency checklists, quick lessons, and more.

To access the app, open Nursing Reference Center Plus in your device's browser, then scroll down to the bottom and lick the NRC Plus Mobile App Access link and follow the instructions. If you're having trouble, contact Steve Self.

Other Apps

Several of our e-resources have mobile apps that can be installed on phones and other devices to make searching even easier. These apps are not run by ACC Libraries, so you may have to go through a registration process to get these to work:


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College