Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can you tell if a web site is trustworthy or not? It's not always easy, but there are things that you can look for that will help you decide.
- Who is the author? Are they qualified to talk about this subject?
- How accurate is the information? You may need to compare what you find with another source to answer this question.
- Who is the audience? This can influence how much detail is included.
- What point of view is being represented? All sites have a bias, but is it obvious or are they trying to hide something?
- How up to date is the site? Older information may no longer be accurate.
The Edwards Aquifer Website
Created by a local environmental professional, this page offers a plethora of information on central Texas' largest underground water source. Links lead to articles, charts, bibliographies, essays, hydrogeology information, a glossary of water terms, etc.
LA Coast: Louisiana Coastal Restoration Web Site
This page describes efforts involved in preserving and restoring Louisiana's wetlands. There are links to maps, reports and other publications, and other wetland projects.
Bureau of Land Management: Environmental Library
The BLM is charged with managing federal lands. These pages describe educational and other programs that the Bureau provides to ensure wise and efficient land use.
Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA is a federal agency charged with monitoring the nation's air, land, and water quality. This site offers information on laws, regulations, current EPA projects, and more.
USGS Water Resources
Water-related information and news, from groundwater usage to floods and hurricanes to drinking water usage.
General Geological Sites
U.S. Geological Survey
The federal science agency focusing on geological research and information disemination.
National Geophysical Data Center
Data from geological disciplines such as marine geology, geophysics, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics, and glaciology.
NOAA Photo Library
The NOAA Photo Library has been built so as to capture the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency.
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program - Northern California
See maps and descriptions of seismic activity in California. Some general information on earthquakes located here too
USGS Geologic Hazards Team
This page, from the U.S. Geological Survey, offers information on geomagnetism, landslides, and earthquakes.
Global Volcanism Project from the Smithsonian Institution
Start here when looking for information about volcanoes. There are lists of volcanoes by name and geographically, plus links to many other volcanology web pages, including Volcano World at the University of North Dakota and the USGS Volcano Hazards Program.
USGS Volcano Hazards Program
Here you will find information on the 169 active volcanoes in the U. S. and what the government is doing to monitor them.
Volcano World at Oregon State University
VW is a higher education, k-12, and public outreach project of the Oregon Space Grant Consortium administered by the Department of Geosciences at Oregon State University. It includes lots of information on active volcanoes as well as general information.
Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library
Links to hundreds of oceanography sites divided into main categories such as library resources and databases, electronic texts and periodicals, and internet guides and indexes.
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program
"Investigating geologic issues of coastal and marine areas" is the purpose of this web page from the U.S. Geological Survey. The Coastal and Marine Geology program has begun to make some of its published circulars available online.
Marine Geology: Research Beneath the Sea
This page from a western regional office of the USGS has good overview of marine geology basics.
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration
NOAA is the federal agency that studies our seas and skies. Yet another good federal government resource for oceanography information.
National Oceanographic Data Center
This branch of NOAA houses "the world's largest collection of publicly available oceanographic data."
This is the online companion to a Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition. Set up as a museum exhibit, one can wander galleries, see video fly-overs of the ocean floor, find out more about human exploration of the seas, and much more.
El Niño Bibliography
Compiled by the Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies (COAPS) Library, many of these sources are available online.
Information on Plate Tectonics
The Paleontological Society
The web page of a group "devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology through the dissemination of research by publication and meetings."
Society of Vertebrate Paleontology
A similar group that is organized for education and scientific purposed
Paleontology Without Walls: Museum of Paleontology
The University of California Museum of Paleontology created this extremely thorough site which presents web-based paleontology info within three main areas of interest: phylogeny, geology and evolution.
A site that shows plate tectonic maps of different geological periods -- including projections into the future!
Rocks, Minerals and Gems
Over 5000 web pages of mineral data, listed alphabetically, by chemical compostion, crystallography and classification. A "mine" of information!
Alphabetical Mineral Reference
From the Berkeley University, a list of minerals with basic facts on each one.
Meteorology - Other
National Snow and Ice Data Center
A branch of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration which studies glaciers, icebergs, blizzards, and other cold weather phenomena. Lots of facts, photos and educational pamphlets are available at this site.
Global Change Master Directory
From NASA. Several data sets of factors relating to climate change, such as Oceans, Human Dimensions, etc. This is largely statistical information.
"NOAA Climate.gov provides science and information for a climate-smart nation. Americans’ health, security, and economic well-being are closely linked to climate and weather. People want and need information to help them make decisions on how to manage climate-related risks and opportunities they face."