Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Literary Criticism Sources
Early Modern Literary Studies
A refereed journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly discussion and as an academic resource for researchers in the area. Articles in EMLS examine English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
The English Association Poetry Portal
Resource site for poetry and poets - curated by The University of Leicester.
Literary Criticism as a Tool for Interpreting Literature
An essay by Steven Hale, Humanities Division, DeKalb College on why criticism is useful. Last updated 3-4-97
Links to web pages on several hundred 19th and 20th Century American and British writers. Pages selected for the quality of the content.
Literary Resources on the Net
Huge collection of criticism, background, and actual texts of literature from Classical to current. From a professor at Rutgers University.
Nobel Prizes in Literature
Nobel Prize Internet Archives. Lists links to winners from the present back to 1901. The list is also available alphabetically by author's last name. The page listing the individual will have links to biographical and critical information.
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Resource and Reference Guide
Large collection of information on specific authors, time periods, types of literature, and big ideas that have affected literature. Much of it is bibliographies, but there are also outlines of topics that are sort of like class notes.
Resource site for poetry and poets.
Collections of poetry published in Poetry Magazine, including audio poems.
Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures Other than English
Links to over 20 non-English literary sites. From Alan Liu of THe University of California Santa Barbara.
Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color
Criticism and biographies of women writers who are/were African American, Asian American, Chicana/Latina, Arab American, Indigenous/Native American. Good source for nonmainstream writers who may not get coverage elsewhere. From the University of Minnesota
Online Literature Collections
Due to copyright, the great majority of online literature collections
on the public part of the Web are of authors before the 20th Century.
The Academy of American Poets
The texts of over 600 poems, both old and new. A "listening booth" provides sound files of more than 100 poets (requires Real Audio 3.0).
Alex: A Catalog of Electronic Texts
Covers American and English authors.
American Verse Project
Electronic versions of volumes of American poetry, published before 1920, can be searched, read and downloaded. May be particularly useful to students of American poetry for research.
The Electric Typewriter
Great articles and essays by the world's best journalists and writers.
The Internet Archive offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
The Online Books Page
Over 30,000 full-text books from Carnegie Mellon University. Most but not all are literature.
The Poetry Archive
Sound files of poets reading their works. You can look up poems by author, title, theme, or form.
Searchable digital archive of 19th and 20th century poetry magazines.
Over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Virgo: University of Virginia Library
Hypertext Archives of Scholarly Editions, from the Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia.
Need More Help?
Need more help finding information on the Internet and interpreting the results? See our study guide.
Specific Authors, Time Periods, or Groups
A Celebration of Women Writers
"Recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history" with the goal of promoting "awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing." Browse by author name, by century or by country.
In addition to the text of the stories, there are translations and lots of background information. From Harvard University.
The life and works of Edgar Allan Poe are explored in this attractive site.
Middle English Prose and Verse
A searchable, browsable collection of Middle English texts, assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive.
Open Source Shakespeare
A general source and index for Shakespeare's works.
The Victorian Women Writers Project
Full texts of many works by 19th Century British women.
Walt Whitman Archive
Texts of poetry (including sound recordings), biographical info, and criticism of the American poet.