Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Materials that you refer to briefly but do not necessarily read from cover to cover to get background information or statistical information on your topic are called reference sources, reference materials, or reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical handbooks, almanacs, directories.)
Print and online reference materials
The Oxford Companion to the Body by
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Presents a wide variety of fascinating and authoritative viewpoints of life scientists, historians, philosophers, health professionals, artists, psychologists, anthropologists, any and many others.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Publication Date: 2010
"With over 2,600 entries, the second edition ofThe Oxford Dictionary of Danceis a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance This comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse dance scene of the 21st century. It includes entries ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance."
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Call Number: GV1585 .B46 1998
Global emphasis on renowned dancers, choreographers, teachers, writers on dance. Augments International Encyclopedia of Dance.
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by
Call Number: TX349 .B4115 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Ideal for anyone who would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media.