Geospatial Engineering: Books / eBooks

Get an insider look at the US National Park Service to see how they use maps and geospatial technology to protect and manage America's national parks. Maps easily cap your first greeting upon arrival at a national park, allowing you to visualize its vastness, plan your trip, and keep a compact souvenir of your visit. But for the US National Park Service (NPS), maps do more than provide guidance and navigation. Maps help the NPS protect visitors and natural resources. They help manage fires, both unplanned and prescribed. They provide a basis for preserving cultural resources, such as archaeological sites and historic buildings, and for establishing needed facilities, infrastructure, and transportation. The maps in Mapping America's National Parks: Preserving Our Natural and Cultural Treasures are not only beautiful representations of special places. Within the maps are layers of geographic information--a bevy of research and science--that the NPS uses to perform these myriad essential services and to ultimately fulfill their mission. With over 240 full-color maps and photographs of national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites, lakeshores, seashores, scenic rivers and trails, and more, Mapping America's National Parks takes you on a journey through our most treasured locations and shows how geographic information system (GIS) software helps the NPS keep the balance between park enjoyment and preservation. Through stories told by their own staff, discover how GIS helps the NPS: provide security for individual wildlife species, members of a crowd at a peaceful demonstration, and entire ecosystems; analyze where people most likely are stranded, where they are least likely stranded, and distribute assets in search and rescue operations; develop strategic plans, budgets, and protection for fire management; and share intelligence on wildlife trafficking, zoonotic diseases, field medicine protocols, and more.   Go behind the scenes to see how mapping and geospatial analysis support the full range of NPS natural resource stewardship and science activities. With NPS planning aided by geospatial technology, future generations of park visitors--your children and their children--will be able to enjoy our national parks for years to come.

Sponsored by the Surveying Committee of the Surveying and Geomatics Division of the Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute of ASCE and the National Geodetic Survey of the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Surveying and Geomatics Engineering: Principles, Technologies, and Applications, MOP 152, is a comprehensive yet general overview to help support education and inform practicing engineers on the important role of the surveying engineer. It provides a much-needed update on the modern practice of surveying and geomatics engineering. Topics include Geodesy, Coordinate systems and transformations, Least squares adjustments and error propagation, Modern surveying and remote sensing technology, Analysis and establishment of control, Geographic and building information systems, Construction surveying, and Best practices. MOP 152 can be used as a summary and a reference for practicing engineers, surveying and otherwise, to help provide a solid understanding of the state of the surveying and geomatics engineering field.

The Definitive Guide to Land Development-Every Detail, Every Issue, Every Setting Land Development Handbook provides a step-by-step approach to any type of project, from rural greenfield development to suburban infill to urban redevelopment.

The definition, use, defense, and retirement of easements are areas of active work for land surveyors, lawyers, and the holders and buyers of easements, such as utility companies and highway departments.

For most of the twentieth century, maps were indispensable. They were how governments understood, managed, and defended their territory, and during the two world wars they were produced by the hundreds of millions. Cartographers and journalists predicted the dawning of a "map-minded age," where increasingly state-of-the-art maps would become everyday tools.

For more than a decade, GPS for Land Surveyors has been unique among other books on this topic due to its clear, straightforward treatment of the subject matter.

In spatial data science, things in closer proximity to one another likely have more in common than things that are farther apart. With this practical book, geospatial professionals, data scientists, business analysts, geographers, geologists, and others familiar with data analysis and visualization will learn the fundamentals of spatial data analysis to gain a deeper understanding of their data questions. Author Bonny P. McClain demonstrates why detecting and quantifying patterns in geospatial data is vital. Both proprietary and open source platforms allow you to process and visualize spatial information. This book is for people familiar with data analysis or visualization who are eager to explore geospatial integration with Python. This book helps you: Understand the importance of applying spatial relationships in data science Select and apply data layering of both raster and vector graphics Apply location data to leverage spatial analytics Design informative and accurate maps Automate geographic data with Python scripts Explore Python packages for additional functionality Work with atypical data types such as polygons, shape files, and projections Understand the graphical syntax of spatial data science to stimulate curiosity

The 1848 treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo that ended the Mexican-American War described a boundary between the two countries that was to be ascertained by a joint boundary commission effort. The section of the boundary along the Rio Grande from Presidio to the mouth of the Pecos River was arguably the most challenging, and it was surveyed by two American parties, one led by civilian surveyor M. T. W. Chandler in 1852, and the second led by Lieutenant Nathaniel Michler in 1853. Our understanding of these two surveys across the greater Big Bend has long been limited to the official reports and maps housed in the National Archives and never widely published. The discovery by Orville B. Shelburne of the journal kept by Dr. Charles C. Parry, surgeon-botanist-geologist for the 1852 party, has dramatically enriched the story by giving us a firsthand view of the Chandler boundary survey as it unfolded. Parry's journal forms the basis of From Presidio to the Pecos River, which documents the day-to-day working of the survey teams. The story Shelburne tells is one of scientific exploration under duress--surveyors stranded in towering canyons overnight without food or shelter; piloting inflatable rubber boats down wild rivers; rising to the challenges of a profoundly remote area, including the possibility of Indian attack. Shelburne's comparison of the original boundary maps with their modern counterparts reveals the limitations of terrain and equipment on the survey teams. Shelburne's book provides a window on the adventure, near disaster, and true accomplishment of the surveyors' work in documenting the course of the Rio Grande across the Big Bend region.  

Surveying with Geomatics and R This book explains basic concepts of surveying science and techniques with geomatics using R software and R packages. It engages students in learning about surveying through real field examples and using differing degrees of complexity while exploring surveying problems based on field observations and advanced geospatial technology. It includes a wide range of case studies as hands-on and self-paced tutorials along with detailed computer programming routines that are linked to the theories and applications explained in each chapter. This innovative textbook also teaches how to explore other possibilities of using geomatics in geocomputation, remote sensing, geography and cartography courses focused on surveying tasks. Features include: Provides modern surveying practices with free software algorithm and R toolset for active learning Includes case studies from different geographical areas using arbitrary and international cartographic reference systems Enables and demonstrates the integration of traditional geomatics with modern geospatial big data technologies Explains data standards, equipment used, possible analyses and the importance of error evaluation for scientific surveying Discusses different scales of landscapes and brings together the experiences of leading experts in the field

The most comprehensive treatment of key elements of original surveys, and the research required to find them, which is an important issue in retracement surveys that has never been fully explored. It will help surveyors become familiar with the proper identification and requirements and find the appropriate evidence using proper procedures. The most comprehensive treatment of key elements of original surveys and the research required to find original surveys, is an important issue in retracement surveys that has never been fully explored. It emphasizes the importance and the necessity of determining the creation of the title and its sources along with its accompanying survey or location. The case studies included in the book discuss the consequences when investigators do not follow complete research procedures, and act upon less information, even though the law requires otherwise. This is a practical guide for surveyors to become familiar with the proper identification and requirements and find the appropriate evidence using the right procedures. This book is intended for the practicing surveyor and will be useful to the legal profession, historical researchers, federal land departments, and others interested in surveys. Features This is the first book that focuses on identifying original surveys, written by one of the top consultants in the United States, who brings real case examples of both successes and failures Explains land separation techniques when more than one has been used previously. Includes numerous case examples providing context for surveyors and attorneys Discusses the relation between title creation and their transfer Addresses federal versus private surveys, their differences, and similarities