United States History: Colonial America

Maintained by Brown University, this archive will ultimately have around 6000 images dating from 1492-1825. Many of these images are from relatively obscure works and have not been reproduced until they were housed in this collection. While useful, keyword searches often require several attempts to find suitable images.

As many as 30,000 escaped slaves fought for the British during the American Revolution in hopes of winning their freedom. This search-able site is sensibly organized and tells their story.

Dinsmore Documentation has created a database of scholarly books and articles on American colonial history that, according to the creators, "appear to be of continuing interest." Currently, there are 22 source materials and the site is browseable by author or subject. Categories include African Americans and Slavery, Arts, Economics and Trade, Immigration from Europe, Law, Native Americans, Politics, Religion, and Wars.

Online access to the world's largest living history museum. You might want to first go to the "Explore & Learn" link to learn about the different social and ethnic groups that lived in colonial Williamsburg.

Self described as a forum for bringing " together scholars, activists, journalists, filmmakers, teachers, and history buffs to discuss everything from politics to parlor manners." The features include "investigative reporting, primary research, and essays on methodological dilemmas and disciplinary divides." Reviews of recent scholarship and films are also included.

Features a digital collection of primary source documents from early American history.

Though geared toward younger students of the late colonial period and early republic, this site does has some useful links and information. An online version of the Federalist Papers is particularly valuable.

A searchable database of the papers of the first Chief Justice and two term governor of New York. There is a biographical essay and four background papers.

An initiative of the University of Connecticut Libraries and supported by the Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center, the site holds images of all fifteen volumes of the Public Records of the Colony of Connecticut, 1636-1776. You may search the site through the A-Z subject index, by date, or by volume and page number.

Created by the Electronic Text Center and the University of Virginia, this site contains a comprehensive collection of the views of Jefferson arranged under 9000 titles relating to government, religious freedom, politics, morals, science, art, education etc. There is also a comprehensive annotated bibliography of writings about Jefferson and a collection of his papers and writings.