LibGuides: Government: Careers

General Career Information

O*Net Online
A site from the U.S. Department of Labor. Gives standardized descriptions of hundreds of jobs. You can search it by the name of a specific job or by general work areas or by skills.
Career Readiness Handbook
From the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board: "This handbook is designed to help students develop a career path and consider their future employment possibilities as they move through postsecondary education. Topics include the type of careers that exist and the skills needed for them, the steps you should take to find a satisfying career, and how students can leverage curricular and co-curricular activities into marketable skills."
Texas Internship Challenge
The Texas Internship Challenge is a joint partnership among the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, TWC and TEA, to encourage business and industry partners across the state to offer paid internships.
CareerOneStop
Huge amounts of information--specific jobs, information on resumes and job searching, educational opportunities, worker and employer legal rights and regulations, links to many other related web sites. Funded by the U.S. government.
Indeed
This search engine covers many web sites with job listings. The Advanced Search lets you specify part time jobs or internships, among other features. You can sign up so new listings that match your criteria are e-mailed to you.
Live Career
With our world-class resume and cover letter builders, professional writing services, interview tips, millions of job listings, and a convenient mobile app, LiveCareer is here for your job search and career management every step of the way.
National Opportunity NOCs: Nonprofit Organization Classifieds
A nationwide listing of jobs in nonprofit organizations. Also, the Career Center and Nonprofit Library have excellent lists of links to related web sites
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Highly recommended as a place to begin searching. Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. Has short descriptions of hundreds of careers, giving required training, likely salary, growth potential, and more.
What Color Is Your Parachute? (Job Hunters Bible)
A supplement to the popular annual book (available in the ACC libraries). Help on job searching and resumes and links to other career web sites.

Careers for Government Majors

Many with a degree in government do take jobs in their federal, state or their local governments, and many choose careers in public service. However, with a liberal arts education there are many professions that one is qualified to pursue with a degree in government. For example, many go on to pursue a career in law or law enforcement, others become teachers/professors, journalists, or even business professionals. Below are some resources to help you research career opportunities for government majors.

USAJOBS - This is the official job listings site of the federal government. The site contains thousands of job and internship listings.
Pathways for Students and Recent Graduates to Federal Careers - The Pathways Programs are for current students and recent graduates. Internships and jobs are posted on the site, as well as tips on how to find and apply for government positions.
American Political Science Association (APSA) - The APSA is a professional organization of political scientists. The site is a wealth of information about the field of political science, including career information in the field.

What you learn with a government degree...

Skills

The study of government allows for the development of a core set of skills sought after by employers in a wide range of occupational settings. A sample of representative skills and abilities follows.

Critical Thinking

Synthesizing themes from diverse source
Ability to interpret social and political data
Integrating of theory and practice

Communication

Public speaking
Presenting written information clearly and concisely
Ability to express multiple viewpoints

Research

Research design, implementation and evaluation
Examination of theory
Ability to utilize various online research resources

From the Cawley Career Education Center at Georgetown University

Career Books

Opportunities in Government Careers by Neale J. Baxter; Mark Rowh
ISBN: 0071392106
Publication Date: 2001-03-31
Opportunities in Government Careers offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers in government. It includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.
Career Opportunities in Politics, Government, and Activism by Joan Axelrod-Contrada; Richard E. Neal (Foreword by)
Call Number: JK692.A94 2008
ISBN: 9780816070893
Publication Date: 2008-07-30
Praise for the previous edition: "...recommended for public, high school, and college library collections."American Reference Books Annual People involved in government, politics, and activism share a passion for public service as well as a desire to make a difference. Career Opportunities in Politics, Government, and Activism, Second Edition provides detailed information on a broad spectrum of careers in these fieldsfrom consulting, community issues, and political campaigns to law, lobbying, and nonprofit administration. This new edition updates all key information, including salary ranges and employment outlook, and features a new foreword by Congressman Richard E. Neal. Each of the 75 job profilesincluding five new for this editionprovides detailed information about the duties, salaries, and prospects for each job. Extensive appendixes include federal government employment resources, listings of graduate school programs and advocacy associations, and useful Web sites. Special appendixes include Frequently Asked Questions About the Civil Service and How to Run for Political Office the Basics. New and updated career profiles include: Antidiscrimination worker Campaign manager City year member Community organizer Consumer activist Economic developer Finance director Housing specialist Legislative assistant Mayor Media strategist Opposition researcher Policy analyst Political consultant Program officer, foundation Public information officer State legislator Victim advocate Webmaster and more.

Government: Careers

General Career Information

Careers for Government Majors

What you learn with a government degree...

Skills

Related Links, Guides, and Databases

Career Books