Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources - Legal
REFERENCE - ONLINE RESOURCES:
In addition to the print collection, ACC students and faculty also have access to numerous online reference resources.
For example, "Gale Virtual Reference Library" is a large library database that contains numerous reference resources including a variety of legal reference resources.
A partial listing of online materials within "Gale Virtual Reference Library" is provided below.
- The Bill of Rights , 5v, 2005
- Capital Punishment: Cruel and Unusual? , 2006
- Constitutions of the World from the Late 18th Century to the Middle of the 19th Century--Europe: Sources on the Rise of Modern Constitutionalism , Vol. 2 2006
- Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library , 5v, 2005
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice , 2nd ed., 4v, 2002
- Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States , 2v, 2000
- Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement , 3v, 2005
- Encyclopedia of Politics , 2v, 2005
- Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities , 2v, 2005
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution , 2nd ed., 6v, 2000
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law , 3d., 2v, 2013
- Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments , 2v, 2008
- Major Acts of Congress , 3v, 2004
- National Survey of State Laws , 6th ed., 2008
- National Survey of State Laws , 5th ed., 2005
- Political Theories for Students , 2002
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law , 2nd ed., 13v, 2004
Zimmerman's Research Guide: An Online Encyclopedia for Legal Researchers - Free resource from a lawyer. Covers all area of the law.
Paralegal Writing and Research
The Legal Research and Writing Handbook by With clear explanations, examples, and visual aids, The Legal Research and Writing Handbook, Eighth Edition by Andrea Yelin and Hope Viner Samborn offers complete coverage of a complex subject in a student-friendly, accessible text. In this thoroughly updated new edition, the authors continue to keep pace with legal research, citation, and technology in today's law firms. This practical text focuses on efficient research processes and techniques for both traditional and electronic sources, along with step-by-step instruction through each stage of the legal writing process, from prewriting strategies, to revising. The text is enhanced with examples and visual aids, expert writing and practice tips, hands-on exercises, ethics alerts, up-to-date web resources, and easy-to-navigate page design. Excellent exercises are provided to reinforce student learning. Key Features: Updated and expanded coverage of electronic resources reflecting how paralegals do research today Detailed discussion of how to use legal authorities in legal communications and how to synthesize them and present them to attorneys Examples, exhibits, practical tips, updated exercises, and web resources in every chapter Expanded discussion of e-mail and e-memos In-depth coverage of the IRAC method, as well as how to write legal memoranda and legal correspondence
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals by * LOISLAW Packaged with 4 months free access to Loislaw's online legal research database. * BLACKBOARD Available in Blackboard online course format. * ECOLLEGE Available in eCollege online course format. * COMPANION WEBSITE www.aspenparalegaled.com/bouchoux_legalresearch5 ( Contact your Aspen Representative for more information about these resources.) Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals offers students a lucid, well-organized introduction to legal research and writing. Designed and written specifically for paralegal students, The fifth edition of this widely acclaimed text continues to be an exemplary teaching and learning tool. Among the attributes that have contributed To The success of this text: comprehensive overview of research and writing skills, reinforced by illustrations and exercises. integration of writing strategies into each research chapter to demonstrate the link between the two processes. thorough coverage of electronic research, including a chapter on Internet research as well as fee-based services such as Lexis and Westlaw. Tips throughout the text demonstrate how to most effectively use electronic resources. descriptive charts and diagrams that help students understand complex topics. Practice Tips in each chapter offer realistic and helpful suggestions for workplace success. Internet Assignments help students learn how to navigate through cyberspace. These questions, which can be made state specific, require students to access relevant Internet sites and locate information. thorough explanations of proper citation form for both ALWD and The Bluebook and updating and validating legal authorities. samples of legal writing, such as a case brief, letters, a court brief, and a legal memorandum. in-depth Instructor’s Manual that includes an overview of the text, sample syllabi, tips on teaching strategies, chapter-by-chapter resource information, answer keys for all assignments, and a test bank. Thoroughly updated to reflect changes in legal research sources and techniques, The Fifth Edition includes: updated information on legal writing . new sample pages. new discussion questions. new questions requiring readers to access pertinent Internet sites to locate information, mirroring what paralegals do in practice. ethics alerts now included in each chapter, providing a quick and concise ethics tip relating To The information in that chapter. Chapter 9 on Updating and Validating the Law is now more concise, reflecting the fact that updating is now done nearly exclusively electronically. Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals, Fifth Edition, designed to focus on issues paralegals face on the job, provides an excellent introduction to the science—and art—involved in legal research and writing.
Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.
LawStack - Download CFR, USC, rules, and state law to your mobile device
Fastcase - Fastcase for Android is a free legal research application, putting the American law library in the palm of your hand. Fastcase contains cases and statutes from all 50 states and from the federal government. You can search by citation, keyword (in Boolean or natural language), or browse statute collections.
NOLO's English Law Dictionary- A law dictionary for the 21st Century! As the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses, Nolo now offers students, accountants, paralegals, and everyone whose work or life is touched by the law, a complete and up-to-date legal dictionary—designed for the palm of your hand
Black's Law Dictionary - For more than a century, Black’s Law Dictionary® has been the gold standard for the language of law. Today, it’s the most widely cited law book in the world. By Editor in Chief Bryan A. Garner, the 10th Edition is the most comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 50,000 terms, including more than 16,000 new definitions.