Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources Quick Search
Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.
Refresher your book finding skills!
The Art of Communication by Bring nuance, depth, and meaning to every conversation you have The Art of Communication is for anyone who senses that they could be communicating on a deeper level. Perhaps you are a confident communicator but suspect there may be more to the art of conversation that you have not yet been able to access. Or perhaps you feel that your conversations lack depth and meaning and that you'd like to enrich your relationships with others, if only you knew how. This book will address your concerns and show you how to engage wholeheartedly with others. There's more to conversation than just clear, rational thinking. Left-brain rationality is important, of course, but neuroscience increasingly shows that the right-brain skills of creativity, intuition and spontaneity are essential in good communication. In this guide, you'll discover ways of tapping into the full conversational potential that lies dormant within you, adding a level of nuance and watching the result as your relationships blossom. You may even find that untapped value in the form of new insights, ideas and creative thoughts, emerges from your daily conversations. Access the more nuanced arts of conversation to create strong connections and tangible results Build cross-disciplinary, cross-cultural connections to communicate effectively with people from different backgrounds Activate your whole mind -- not just your intellect -- to bring creativity and depth to communication Learn to be open-hearted, spontaneous, vulnerable, intuitive, and captivating in every conversation you hold From communication guru and bestselling author Judy Apps, The Art of Communication will show you how to breathe life into your relationships and produce powerful new thinking enabling you to transform the world you live in.
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
The Emoji Revolution by Where have emoji come from? Why are they so popular? What do they tell us about the technology-enhanced state of modern society? Far from simply being an amusing set of colourful little symbols, emoji are in the front line of a revolution in the way we communicate. As a form of global, image-based communication, they're a perfect example of the ingenuity and creativity at the heart of human interaction. But they're also a parable for the way that consumerism now permeates all parts of our daily existence, taking a controlling interest even in the language we use; and of how technology is becoming ever more entangled in our everyday lives. So how will this split-identity affect the way that online communication develops? Are emoji ushering in a bold new era of empathy and emotional engagement on the internet? Or are they a first sign that we're handing over the future of human interaction to the machines?
Publication Date: 2019-06-13
Improve Your Communication Skills by Improve Your Communication Skills is your practical guide to effective communication in business. This fully updated 5th edition now features a handy self-assessment tool to help you profile your own preferred communication style, even more practical exercises, useful checklists and top tips, as well as content on influencing others and managing difficult conversations. Better communication skills will have a direct impact on your career development. This book provides vital guidance on improving your conversations, building rapport, developing your skills of persuasion, giving effective presentations, writing excellent emails, letters and reports, and networking successfully. With the help of Improve Your Communication Skills, you will be able to get your message across - every time. The Creating Success series of books... Unlock vital skills, power up your performance and get ahead with the bestselling Creating Success series. Written by experts for new and aspiring managers and leaders, this million-selling collection of accessible and empowering guides will get you up to speed in no time. Packed with clever thinking, smart advice and the kind of winning techniques that really get results, you'll make fast progress, quickly reach your goals and create lasting success in your career.
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Nonverbal Communication in Everyday Life by Nonverbal Communication in Everyday Life, Fourth Edition, is the most comprehensive, thoroughly researched, and up-to-date introduction to the subject of nonverbal communication available today. Renowned author Martin S. Remland introduces nonverbal communication in a concise and engaging format that connects foundational concepts, current theory, and new research findings to familiar everyday interactions. Presented in three parts, the text offers full and balanced coverage of the functions, channels, and applications of nonverbal communication. This approach not only gives students a strong foundation, but also allows them to fully appreciate the importance of nonverbal communication in their personal and professional lives.
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
Social Skills by What can we do to help those who struggle to develop effective social skills? Social Skills: Developing Effective Interpersonal Communication is a definitive guide to understanding and meeting the needs of those who have difficulty with social skills. Written in a clear and accessible manner, this book provides a theoretical framework to the teaching of social skills alongside a range of practical ideas for practitioners. The book offers a four-step plan that can be adapted for use with young people or adults who are struggling with any aspect of their social skills. A simple model for assessing social skills is provided, as well as ways to measure the impact of intervention. Full of interesting examples and case studies, it includes discussion of how to teach social skills, how social skills develop through childhood, why they sometimes might not, and why social skills difficulties can have an impact on self-esteem and friendships. It includes a breakdown of social skills into the following areas: * body language * eye contact * listening and paralanguage * starting and ending conversations * maintaining conversations * assertiveness Written by one of the most well-known speech and language therapists in this field and the creator of the internationally successful Talkabout resources, this book provides a key reference for the study of social skills. It will be essential reading for educators, therapists, parents and anyone supporting others in developing communication and social skills. cludes a breakdown of social skills into the following areas: * body language * eye contact * listening and paralanguage * starting and ending conversations * maintaining conversations * assertiveness Written by one of the most well-known speech and language therapists in this field and the creator of the internationally successful Talkabout resources, this book provides a key reference for the study of social skills. It will be essential reading for educators, therapists, parents and anyone supporting others in developing communication and social skills.
Call Number: RRC HM691 .K46 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
You've Got 8 Seconds by The average attention span today has dropped to 8 seconds (which means you may want to send out detailed bullet points reviewing what was discussed at your last staff meeting). With more distractions today than ever before for the average person, it has become as difficult as it's ever been to get a message across. To get heard in this ADD-filled, phone-addicted culture, one must focus their message, be slightly different, and deliver with finesse.In You've Got 8 Seconds, high-stakes communications expert Paul Hellman uses fast, fun, actionable tips to explain what works and what doesn't, what's forgettable and what sticks, when it comes to getting your message to land. With stories, scripts, and examples of both good and bad messages, the book reveals three main strategies for getting your point across:* FOCUS: Design a strong message--then communicate it in seconds* VARIETY: Make routine information come alive* PRESENCE: Convey confidence and command attentionHellman also shares many practical techniques that have been proven successful, including his very own Focus Method(tm) that he uses with leadership teams; 10 actions that spell executive presence; and his own unique plan for how to stand out in the first seconds of a presentation. Get their attention. Get understood. Get results!
Publication Date: 2017-04-13