Click on the Research Success tab in the Student Learning Success Toolbox for tips and tools.
Oxford / Grove Reference
ACC Library Services subscribes to Oxford Reference Online, which includes 12 music reference works. Here are some highlights once included in Oxford Music Online that we still provide print or online access to.
A collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music. The book draws on profuse musically-oriented examples and is arranged by topics both musical and typographic, such as the proper use and spelling of composer names and musical concepts; the use of notes, pitches, and octave delineations; letters and numbers employed to describe form and harmony; when, where, and how to apply compound words and hyphenation of terms and names; and the proper citation of musical and audiovisual sources.
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. [Faculty request]
This thoroughly revised new edition covers nine decades of history and artistry, from the Carter Family recordings of the 1920s to the reign of Taylor Swift in the first decade of the twenty-first century.
The Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal by Daniel BukszpanSpecial 10-Year Anniversary Edition. In this guide to all things metal, veteran headbanger Daniel Bukszpan narrates the history of the music, from trailblazing acts like Black Sabbath, Metallica, and AC/DC to modern standouts like Killswitch Engage, Mastodon, and Girlschool.
A wiki-based repository of more than 26,000 works are available in more than 66,000 public domain musical scores and parts. Performers contributed a number of recordings in MP3 format to accompany the scores. The collection is both browsable (composer, time period, nationality, or genre/instrumentation) and searchable (keyword, composer, or database index number). Scores are available to download in PDF format.
Regularly updated, annotated bibliographies of key resources on composers, musical periods and styles, genres, stylistic movements, theory, instruments, regions, and popular and ethnic music, compiled by experts from a wide spectrum of music scholars.
This multimedia guide displays the diversity of performing arts available in the collections of music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials at the Library of Congress. See About the Performing Arts Encyclopedia for more information.
An online music reference, this is the successor to the Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary. All glossary terms have associated sound files to help with pronunciation. Some terms have illustrations, photographs, or video examples as well.