Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Search For Books
You can search for books, movies, and music by using the library's online catalog.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below, then press Enter or click the Search button.
Here are some examples of search strategies:
- music theory
- piano sonatas
- guitar instruction
- singing methods
- jazz history
- Bach criticism
- Miles Davis
Browse the Stacks
Materials in our libraries are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification system. The music collection is located at the Northridge Campus Library. You can browse the library catalog and the library stacks (shelves) with these music call number ranges:
M 1-5000 Music (collections of musical sources, collected works of individual composers, instrumental music, solo instruments, orchestra, band, and vocal music)
ML 1-3930 Literature on music (dictionaries, encyclopedias, history and criticism, biography, composition, types of music)
ML 3000 -3790 (music business, recording industry)
MT 1-960 Musical instruction and study (music theory, instrumental techniques, singing and vocal technique)
TK 7881.4 Sound -- Recording and reproducing -- Digital techniques (also in ML 74.4)
If you cannot find material you need, please ask a librarian for assistance. You can also search libraries worldwide through WorldCat. Ask about interlibrary loan if you find a title you need at a distant library.
With your ACCeID, you can get a TexShare card at your campus library to borrow books from local member libraries.
Borrowing Library Materials
When you have found library items in this guide you would like to borrow
--Click the Request Item button to the right of the book title.
--Type in your ACCeID number and password on the request form and click LOG IN.
--Select a campus Pickup Location.
It usually takes 2-5 business days to have material sent from one campus library to another through campus mail.
Most books and media items are loaned for two weeks. You may renew your material twice if it has not been requested by another borrower.
To renew materials online, go to My Account.
The library also provides access to e-books which can be read online. Look for the symbol in your catalog search results.
View e-book titles found by keyword searching music* (results will be sorted by relevance). Keep in mind that some of the books found may not be entirely about the subject, as this is a keyword search that will retrieve any results with music anywhere in the record (e.g., music business, musician, musical, world music, etc.).
You will need to submit your ACCeID and password to read and e-books if you are not on campus.
Printed Sheet Music
Need sheet music?
Take a look at this list from the library catalog.
Recent Additions to the Collection
A few recent arrivals at ACC Libraries. See also our page of Popular Titles in the collection.
David Bowie by
Call Number: ML420 .B754 J66 2018 HLC, NRG
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
Drawn from over 180 interviews with friends, rivals, lovers, and collaborators, some of whom have never before spoken about their relationship with Bowie, this oral history weaves a hypnotic spell as it unfolds the story of a remarkable rise to stardom and an unparalleled artistic path.
Debussy: A Painter in Sound by
Call Number: ML410 .D28 W35 2018 NRG, RRC
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
One of the most revered composers of the twentieth century, Claude Debussy (1862-1918) achieved the unheard of: he reinvented the language of music without alienating the majority of music lovers.
Experiencing Berlioz by
Call Number: ML410 .B5 O54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Experiencing Berlioz: A Listener's Companion is an in-depth entre into the sound world of Hector Berlioz, recognized today as one of the most profoundly original and engaging composers in 19th-century Europe.
Experiencing Chopin by
Call Number: ML410 .C54 G4 2018 HLC, SAC
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
In Experiencing Chopin: A Listener's Companion, Christine Lee Gengaro surveys Chopin's position as a composer at a time when the piano stood at the center of musical and social life.
The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic by
Call Number: ML3534 .H673 2015 NRG
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Jessica Hopper's music criticism has earned her a reputation as a firebrand, a keen observer and fearless critic not just of music but the culture around it. With this volume spanning from her punk fanzine roots to her landmark piece on R. Kelly's past,The First Collection leaves no doubt whyThe New York Times has called Hopper's work "influential."
Leonard Bernstein by
Call Number: ML410 .B566 L37 2018 HLC, RRC
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Published to coincide with the hundredth anniversary of Bernstein's birth, this engaging new biography provides a concise overview of the life and work of a prodigiously talented, endlessly enthralling, and controversial musician.
Live Wires: A History of Electronic Music by
Call Number: ML1380 .W37 2017 NRG, SGC
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Live Wires explores how five key electronic technologies--the tape recorder, circuit, computer, microphone, and turntable--revolutionized musical thought.
Playing Changes: Jazz for the New Century by
Call Number: ML3506 .C54 2018 NRG
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Grounded in authority and brimming with style, Playing Changes is the first book to take the measure of this exhilarating moment: it is a compelling argument for the resiliency of the art form and a rejoinder to any claims about its calcification or demise.
The Rap Year Book by
Call Number: ML3531 .S477 2015 HLC, SAC
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
The Rap Year Book takes readers on a journey that begins in 1979, widely regarded as the moment rap became recognized as part of the cultural and musical landscape, and comes right up to the present. Shea Serrano deftly pays homage to the most important song of each year.