Management: Websites

Austin Business Journal - Includes content from the late 1990s to the present, and includes the Book of Lists and Special Publications.  Access is granted by registering with your ACC email.

Barron's - Print copies available at Highland, Riverside, and South Austin campus libraries. 

Bloomberg Businessweek - Full text available 2010-present in Business Sources Complete

Financial Times - Full text available 1999-present through Gale Academic OneFile

Harvard Business Review - Business Source Complete hosts the Harvard Business Review Journal (1922 - Present). Only Harvard Business Review Journal Case Studies are available, you will not find full-text copies of the Harvard Business School Cases within this database.

The Economist - Full text available 1988-present through Gale Academic OneFile. 

The New York Times (website) - All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website. You must first register using your ACC email at Access NYTimes. More information can be found at The New York Times: Academic Pass guide.

PR Newswire - Full text access 1988-present available from Newspaper Source Plus

The Wall Street Journal (website) - All ACC faculty, students, and staff have unlimited access to WSJ.com, WSJ apps, podcasts, curated newsletters, and more. You must first register using your ACC email at WSJ.com/AustinCC. More information can be found at The Wall Street Journal: Membership Program

Using resources from the open Internet may be acceptable in some cases, but there a few important things to consider:

Types of sources you may find on the internet:

• General information (Wikipedia)
• Government sources (Bureau of Labor Statistics, Congress website)
• News coverage (New York Times, Chicago Tribune)
• Specialized information (Non-Profit, lobbying, or professional organizations websites)

While these sources are not considered scholarly, since they are intended for a general audience, they may still be credible and provide some information you can use to support your research. Here are some things to keep in mind:

• Who is the intended audience of this information? Is it created  for a general audience, or a specific group such as scholars or professionals?
• What authority does the author/publisher have on this subject? Or what sources of authority are they citing or quoting?
• What is the purpose of this information? What intention did the author or publisher have when publishing it?
• When was it published? Finding dates on static internet pages such as government or non-profits can sometimes be challenging, but credible news sources always have a date.
• How are you going to use the information you've found? Is this background information or quality, cite-able information?
• Is there a better (scholarly) source for this information? The answer could be no if it is a very recent event, unlikely to be covered in scholarly books or articles yet.

Adapted from the City Colleges of Chicago Wilbur Wright College Library https://researchguides.ccc.edu/research101/webresources