Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.
After the search completes, click on the left side of the page where it says "Book (ebook)" This will limit your results to only show digital books, which are still available even when the physical library is not.
Finding e-Books - Online Tutorial
In this tutorial you will explore the role books play in research, how to find books, and how to access e-books.This module is designed to take about 10 minutes to complete and includes lots of examples and some interactive practice.
The Art of Caring Leadership by
If your people know you care about them, they will move mountains. Employee engagement and loyalty expert Heather Younger outlines nine ways to manifest the radical power of caring support in the workplace. Here's the thing: most leaders think of themselves as caring leaders, but not all of them act in alignment with what that means for employees. Leaders may not be able to identify the level of care they are extending to their employees, but all employees intuitively know whether their bosses or managers are caring for them. Heather Younger argues that if you are looking for increased productivity, customer satisfaction, or employee engagement, you need to care for your employees first. Genuinely caring for people means that you want to see them succeed for themselves, not just for what they can do for you, your team, or your organization. This book incorporates ten sections with breakout stories and interviews that outline the necessary steps to make all employees feel included and cared for, as well as a call to action for all leaders. Younger states that leaders who have the positive power to change the lives of those they lead shouldn't just want to care for them; they should see it as imperative for the success of their employees and their organization.
Breaking the Silence Habit by
Top consultant Sarah Beaulieu offers a five-part framework that enables employees to have difficult but necessary conversations about sexual harassment and violence and develop new, better ways of working together. In the wake of the #MeToo movement, employees and leaders are struggling with how to respond to the pervasiveness of sexual harassment. Most approaches simply emphasize knowing and complying with existing laws. But people need more than lists of dos and don'ts--they need to learn how to navigate this uncertain, emotionally charged terrain. Sarah Beaulieu provides a new skills-based approach to addressing sexual harassment prevention and response in the workplace, including using underdeveloped skills like empathy, situational awareness, boundary setting, and intervention. Beaulieu outlines a five-part framework for having conversations about sexual harassment: Know the Facts; Feel Uncomfortable; Get Curious, Not Furious; See the Whole Picture; and Embrace Practical Questions. By embracing these conversations, we can break the cycle of avoidance and silence that makes our lives and workplaces feel volatile and unsafe. Grounded in storytelling, humor, and dozens of real-life scenarios, this book introduces the idea of uncomfortable conversation as the core skill required to enable everyone to bring their full talent and contributions to safe and respectful workplaces.
Creating Introvert-Friendly Workplaces by
"This important book offers organizations the keys to introvert inclusion." --Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author of Quiet Influence The first guide to creating a welcoming culture that maximizes the powerful contributions introverts bring to the workplace. As the diversity, equity, and inclusion wave widens and deepens its reach, introversion is becoming a natural part of that movement. After all, about half the population identify as introverts, but many organizations are stuck in traditional extrovert-centric workplace cultures that reward people for speaking up publicly, expect them to log face time, and employ hiring and promotion practices rooted in the past. This ultimately discourages introverts from contributing and reaching their full talent potential, which could have a major impact on the bottom line. "Champion for introverts" Jennifer Kahnweiler offers a road map for everyone in the workplace--including leaders, human resource managers, and team members--to create inclusive, introvert-friendly cultures. Kahnweiler provides an assessment to determine how introvert friendly your organization is and looks at every aspect of organizational life--hiring, training, leading, communicating, meeting, designing workplaces, and more--through an inclusive lens. You'll discover how to make open-space offices introvert friendly, what the best practices are for encouraging introverts to participate on teams, which training techniques work best for introverts, and how to make remote positions work.
The Diversity Bonus by
How businesses and other organizations can improve their performance by tapping the power of differences in how people think What if workforce diversity is more than simply the right thing to do? What if it can also improve the bottom line? It can. The Diversity Bonus shows how and why. Scott Page, a leading thinker, writer, and speaker whose ideas and advice are sought after by corporations, nonprofits, universities, and governments, makes a clear and compelling practical case for diversity and inclusion. He presents overwhelming evidence that teams that include different kinds of thinkers outperform homogenous groups on complex tasks, producing what he calls "diversity bonuses." These bonuses include improved problem solving, increased innovation, and more accurate predictions--all of which lead to better results. Drawing on research in economics, psychology, computer science, and many other fields, The Diversity Bonus also tells the stories of businesses and organizations that have tapped the power of diversity to solve complex problems. The result changes the way we think about diversity at work--and far beyond.
Exploring the Influence of Personal Values and Cultures in the Workplace by
The shifting influence of growing organizational cultures and individual standards has caused significant changes to modern organizations. By creating a better understanding of these influences, the quality of organizations can be improved. Exploring the Influence of Personal Values and Cultures in the Workplace is a pivotal reference source for the latest research on how culture and personal values shape and influence employees' actions, behaviors, and leadership styles. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant areas such as psychological health, career management, and job satisfaction, this publication is an ideal resource for practitioners, professionals, managers, and researchers seeking innovative perspectives on the impact of personal values and cultures in the workplace.
Resilient Management by
Finding your bearings as a manager can feel overwhelming-but you don't have to fake it to make it, and you don't have to go it alone. Lara Hogan shares her recipe for supporting and leading a tech team-from developing your mentoring and coaching skills, to getting comfortable with having difficult conversations, to boosting trust among teammates-while staying grounded along the way.
Subtle Acts of Exclusion by
The first practical handbook that helps individuals and organizations recognize and prevent microaggressions so that all employees can feel a sense of belonging. Our workplaces and society are growing more diverse, but are we supporting inclusive cultures? While overt racism, sexism, ableism, and other forms of discrimination are relatively easy to spot, we cannot neglect the subtler everyday actions that normalize exclusion. Many have heard the term microaggression, but not everyone fully understands what they are or how to recognize them and stop them from happening. Tiffany Jana and Michael Baran offer a clearer, more accessible term, subtle acts of exclusion, or SAEs, to emphasize the purpose and effects of these actions. After all, people generally aren't trying to be aggressive--usually they're trying to say something nice, learn more about a person, be funny, or build closeness. But whether in the form of exaggerated stereotypes, backhanded compliments, unfounded assumptions, or objectification, SAE are damaging to our coworkers, friends, and acquaintances. Jana and Baran give simple and clear tools to identify and address such acts, offering scripts and action plans for everybody involved. Knowing how to have these conversations in an open-minded, honest way will help us build trust and create stronger workplaces and healthier, happier people and communities.
Timeless Management by
With a compelling mix of modern best practices and traditional management lessons, this is an essential read on the essence of good management.
Using Scenarios: Scenario Planning for Improving Organizations by
This is the first book to offer detailed guidance on how scenarios can be used to help organizations make their toughest decisions in a world of ever-escalating crisis and opportunity. To reap the full benefits of scenarios, you have to be able to apply them in the real world. This groundbreaking book goes beyond the theoretical to clearly explain different ways scenarios can be used in business decision-making--from strategic planning and financial modeling to crisis response. Connecting scenarios to strategy and action can have many benefits, including the ability to react quickly, anticipate major changes in the environment, and identify major opportunities. Thomas Chermack, a top expert on scenario planning, offers seven specific ways organizations can use scenarios and provides a wide variety of examples, along with proven processes, exercises, and workshops that have been used successfully in organizations across industries and countries for more than fifteen years.
The surprising science of meetings : how you can lead your team to peak performance by 
Radical inclusion : what the post-9/11 world should have taught us about leadership by
"Today's leaders are in competition for the trust and confidence of those they lead more than ever before. Dempsey and Brafman assert that the nature of power is changing and should not be measured by degree of control alone. They offer principles for adaptation and bring them to life with examples from business, academia, government, and the military."--Jacket flap.
Leading with dignity : how to create a culture that brings out the best in people by 
The Drama-Free Workplace by
Eliminate sexual harassment, unconscious bias, ethical lapses and other HR nightmares! Companies spend millions on legal compliance training and initiatives to eliminate workplace drama and the resulting low morale and lawsuits, but don't always get the results they want. Most organizations understand that simply checking legal compliance boxes around sexual harassment, bias, etc. isn't enough, but are at a loss on how to implement solutions, especially in today's post-#MeToo world. Patti Perez is an attorney, HR expert, trainer, and former state regulator, who has conducted over 1,200 workplace investigations. In this unique book, she explains the secret to avoiding all forms of drama, legal exposure, and low morale: A healthy workplace culture. Patti combines the lessons learned from 25 years of professional experience with robust data from behavioral science research to debunk common myths, including the belief that a focus on legal compliance leads to a healthy workplace culture. (In fact, it increases the likelihood of getting sued). The Drama-Free Workplace includes a section with easy-to-understand causes, effects and solutions to problems related to: Sexual harassment Bias and diversity Ethics lapses The book also includes helpful information on: Becoming an organization that values and practices fearlessness, fairness and freedom Anticipating situations that give rise to drama, with detailed advice on how to prevent it from happening Using emotional intelligence to communicate more precisely and persuasively about sensitive, controversial topics in the workplace Finally, the book's DIY section guides companies on how to: draft and enforce helpful policies (that employees will actually read and *want* to follow) design and deliver powerful and effective training programs investigate and resolve claims of sexual harassment and other types of misconduct. Together, these practical tools will help all your employees feel valued and motivated, and keep drama, disengagement, and lawsuits, away.
Diversity and inclusion in the global workplace : aligning initiatives with strategic business goals by 
Cross-Cultural Leadership by
For many decades, management in its research and practice has been in need of an alternative approach and paradigm to understanding human behaviours. Many studies and books have attempted to provide solutions to the individual, which ended up being a cultural dilemma with little success. This book provides a novel approach to address this dilemma by linking aspects from three knowledge domains; Psychology, Anthropology and Sociology. Cross-Cultural Leadership supports Cultural Intelligence (CQ) and makes it a practical construct and tool that both managers and researchers harness to understand what "cultural Chameleon" means. The book also renders support to Douglaisan Cultural Framework　 (DCF) by activating the role of the usually neglected fifth culture; the hermit by linking it to the metacognitive dimension of CQ. This link introduces for the first time the mechanism that individuals use to run through metacognitive processes to drive change. This book is a tool for individuals to help them work efficiently outside their homeland. Being an adaptive or culturally hybrid leader is among the most important competencies of the effective leaders in the 21st century. By focusing on comprehending the five cultures as elaborated in DCF, leaders and managers will be relieved from the dilemma of having to understand each and every national culture of their employees. This book will be of value to researchers, academics, managers, and students with an interest in leadership, management, organization studies, globalization, and innovation
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Diversity (with Bonus Article Making Differences Matter: a New Paradigm for Managing Diversity by David A. Thomas and Robin J. Ely) by
Reap the benefits of a diverse workforce. If you read nothing else on promoting diversity and realizing its benefits, read these 10 articles. We've combed through hundreds of Harvard Business Review articles and selected the most important ones to help you create a culture that seeks and celebrates difference. This book will inspire you to: Identify and address bias Short-circuit discrimination instead of unintentionally feeding it Attract, retain, and engage talented people who represent myriad identities Ensure that everyone has equal access to growth opportunities Trade outdated policies for practices that are proven to foster inclusion Harness employees' unique skills and perspectives to transform how your company operates This collection of articles includes "Making Differences Matter: A New Paradigm for Managing Diversity," by David A. Thomas and Robin J. Ely; "Why Diversity Programs Fail," by Frank Dobbin and Alexandra Kalev; "'Numbers Take Us Only So Far,'" by Maxine Williams; "Race Matters: The Truth About Mentoring Minorities," by David A. Thomas; "Leadership in Your Midst: Tapping the Hidden Strengths of Minority Executives," by Sylvia Ann Hewlett, Carolyn Buck Luce, and Cornel West; "What Most People Get Wrong About Men and Women," by Catherine H. Tinsley and Robin J. Ely; "Hacking Tech's Diversity Problems," by Joan C. Williams; "Why Men Still Get More Promotions Than Women," by Herminia Ibarra, Nancy M. Carter, and Christine Silva; "When No One Retires," by Paul Irving; "Neurodiversity as a Competitive Advantage," by Robert D. Austin and Gary P. Pisano; "Managing Multicultural Teams," by Jeanne Brett, Kristin Behfar, and Mary C. Kern; and "7 Myths About Coming Out at Work," by Raymond Trau, Jane O'Leary, and Cathy Brown.
The gift of global talent : how migration shapes business, economy & society by