Mathematics: Finding Books

Strategies for Success provides a series of study skills activities designed to help you succeed in college mathematics. These proven, class-tested activities have been developed over many semesters from the authors’ firsthand experience with their own students. This workbook contains 34 activities, in ready-to-use worksheet format. The activities can be used in several ways—individual work, group work, or large group discussion. Some of the topics covered include Notebook Preparation, Reading a Math Textbook, Successful Student Behavior, Time Management, Test Preparation Skills, Study Group Ideas, and much more.

Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra will help build a solid mathematical foundation and enable students to gain the confidence they need to continue their education in mathematics. Particular attention is placed on topics that students traditionally struggle with the most. The topics are explained in everyday language before the examples are worked. The problems are solved clearly and systematically, with step-by-step instructions provided. Problem-solving skills and good habits, such as checking your answers after every problem, are emphasized along with practice problems throughout, and the answers to all of the practice problems are provided.Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra is a straightforward and easy-to-read review of arithmetic skills. It includes topics that are intended to help prepare students to successfully learn algebra, including:Working with fractions Understanding the decimal system Calculating percentages Solving linear equalities Graphing functions Understanding word problems

Offering a uniquely modern, balanced approach, Tussy/Gustafson/Koenig's DEVELOPMENTAL MATHEMATICS FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS, Third Edition, integrates the best of traditional drill and practice with the best elements of the reform movement. To many developmental math students, algebra is like a foreign language. They have difficulty translating the words, their meanings, and how they apply to problem solving. Emphasizing the "language of algebra," the text's fully integrated learning process is designed to expand students' reasoning abilities and teach them how to read, write, and think mathematically. It blends instructional approaches that include vocabulary, practice, and well-defined pedagogy with an emphasis on reasoning, modeling, communication, and technology skills.

For high school students and college undergraduates, this three-volume set invites understanding of math as an activity embedded in virtually every human endeavor. A total of 478 signed articles ranging in length from 500 to 3500 words and arranged alphabetically address various aspects of architecture, engineering, the arts, music, entertainment, business, economics, computers, religion, games, sports, politics, history, medicine, travel, weather, and the environment, among other broad themes. Each article begins with identification of the field's "category" and fields of study, as well as a one-line summary; and each article ends with a further reading list and cross-references. The third volume contains a chronology, resource guide, and glossary as well as the index for the set. Editors Greenwald and Thomley are affiliated with Appalachian State U. Online access is included with purchase of the print edition.

Just as pocket calculators obviated the need for tables of square roots and trigonometric functions; the internet has made many other tables and formulas unnecessary. Prior to the preparation of this 32nd Edition of the CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae, the content has been reconsidered. The criteria established for inclusion in this edition are:

information that is immediately useful as a reference (e.g., names of powers of
10, addition in hexadecimal);
information about which many readers may be unaware and should know about
(e.g., visual proofs, sequences);
information that is more complete or concise than that which can be found on
the internet (e.g., table of conformal mappings);
information that cannot be found on the internet due to the difficulty of entering
a query (e.g., integral tables);
illustrations of how mathematical information is interpreted.

A sharp mind, like a healthy body, is subject to the same rule of nature: Use it or lose it Need a calculator just to work out a 15 percent service charge? Not exactly sure how to get the calculator to give you the figure you need? Turn to this revised and updated edition of All the Math You'll Ever Need, the friendliest, funniest, and easiest workout program around. In no time, you'll have total command of all the powerful mathematical tools needed to make numbers work for you. In a dollars-and-cents, bottom-line world, where numbers influence everything, none of us can afford to let our math skills atrophy. This step-by-step personal math trainer: Refreshes practical math skills for your personal and professional needs, with examples based on everyday situations. Offers straightforward techniques for working with decimals and fractions. Demonstrates simple ways to figure discounts, calculate mortgage interest rates, and work out time, rate, and distance problems. Contains no complex formulas and no unnecessary technical terms.

"The easiest and quickest way to learn basic math."

Say goodbye to dry presentations, gruelling formulas, and abstract theories that would put Einstein to sleep, now there's an easier way to master the disciplines you really need to know Everyday Math Demystified has everything you need to know about essential mathematics, including arithmetic, ratios, and proportions, working with money, the International System of Units, perimeter and area, graphs, stock returns, square roots, rates of change, and much more.

Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra is a straightforward and easy-to-read review of arithmetic skills. It includes topics that are intended to help prepare students to successfully learn algebra, including: * Working with fractions * Understanding the decimal system * Calculating percentages * Solving linear equalities * Graphing functions * Understanding word problems

Master Math: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra teaches the reader in a very user-friendly and accessible manner the principles and formulas for establishing a solid math foundation. This book covers topics such as complex fractions, mixed numbers and improper fractions; converting fractions, percents, and decimals; solving equations with logarithms or exponents, and much more.

TOEFL: The English Scores You Need! helps students score higher on the new TOEFL iBT exam, using English with confidence, and qualify for admission to colleges and universities in the United States. This indispensable exam study guide offers strategies, tips, and integrated practice exercises that will prepare students for the official exam.

In his monumental 1687 work Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica, known familiarly as the Principia, Isaac Newton laid out in mathematical terms the principles of time, force, and motion that have guided the development of modern physical science. Even after more than three centuries and the revolutions of Einsteinian relativity and quantum mechanics, Newtonian physics continues to account for many of the phenomena of the observed world, and Newtonian celestial dynamics is used to determine the orbits of our space vehicles. This completely new translation, the first in 270 years, is based on the third (1726) edition, the final revised version approved by Newton; it includes extracts from the earlier editions, corrects errors found in earlier versions, and replaces archaic English with contemporary prose and up-to-date mathematical forms. Newton's principles describe acceleration, deceleration, and inertial movement; fluid dynamics; and the motions of the earth, moon, planets, and comets. A great work in itself, the Principia also revolutionized the methods of scientific investigation. It set forth the fundamental three laws of motion and the law of universal gravity, the physical principles that account for the Copernican system of the world as emended by Kepler, thus effectively ending controversy concerning the Copernican planetary system. The illuminating Guide to the Principia by I. Bernard Cohen, along with his and Anne Whitman's translation, will make this preeminent work truly accessible for today's scientists, scholars, and students.

Since the time of the Ancient Greeks, much has been written about the relation between mathematics and music: from harmony and number theory, to musical patterns and group theory. Benson provides a wealth of information here to enable the teacher, the student, or the interested amateur to understand, at varying levels of technicality, the real interplay between these two ancient disciplines. The story is long as well as broad and involves physics, biology, psycho acoustics, the history of science, and digital technology as well as, of course, mathematics and music. Starting with the structure of the human ear and its relationship with Fourier analysis, the story proceeds via the mathematics of musical instruments to the ideas of consonance and dissonance, and then to scales and temperaments. This is a must-have book if you want to know about the music of the spheres or digital music and many things in between.

This book aims at giving a comprehensive review of literature on perspective constructions from the Renaissance to the end of the eighteenth century. Covering the work of some 175 authors, it treats the emergence of the various methods of constructing perspective, the development of the theories underlying the constructions, the communication between mathematicians and artisans in these developments, and the interactions between these theories and various subjects in mathematical geometry. The main protagonists are Peiro della Francesca, Guidobaldo del Monte, Simon Stevin, Brook Taylor, and Johann Heinrich Lambert. The book includes a comprehensive bibliography of books and manuscripts on perspective.

Description provided by Springer, c2007.

Use the link above to see this title's Table of Contents. It's worth it.