LibGuides: Religion: Religion Resources

Definition

Religion: "Religion refers to a system of beliefs, behaviors, and societal views that guide and direct the thoughts and actions of a group of people or an individual. A religion may have symbols, sacred objects, and writings."

Ungvarsky, Janine. “Religion.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=ers&AN=89145101&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Mavis Klemcke

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Faculty Librarian/Assistant Professor
Austin Community College
South Austin Campus
1820 W Stassney Ln, Austin, TX 78745
mavis.klemcke@austincc.edu
512-223-9185

512.223.9185

Featured Books

New approaches to the study of religion. Volume 1, Regional, critical, and historical approaches by Peter Antes (Editor); Armin W. Geertz (Editor); Randi R. Warne (Editor)
ISBN: 9783110211702
Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Internationally recognized scholars from many parts of the world provide a critical survey of recent developments and achievements in the global field of religious studies. The work follows in the footsteps of two former publications: Classical Approaches to the Study of Religion, edited by Jacques Waardenburg (1973), and Contemporary Approaches to the Study of Religion, edited by Frank Whaling (1984/85). New Approaches to the Study of Religion completes the survey of the comparative study of religion in the twentieth century by focussing on the past two decades. Many of the chapters, however, are also pathbreaking and point the way to future approaches.
Brown church : five centuries of Latina/o social justice, theology, and identity by Robert Chao Romero
ISBN: 9780830853953
Publication Date: 2020-05-26
Interest in and awareness of the demand for social justice as an outworking of the Christian faith is growing. But it is not new.

Sacred Texts and Writings

AVESTA: Zoroastrian Archives
"Complete text of the extant Avesta, the most ancient scriptures of Zoroastrianism, as well as many Pahlavi scriptures. Most of the texts in these archives are extremely rare."
more...less...
Zoroastrianism was the dominant religion during the Persian empires (559 BC to 651 AD) and influenced other religions. It is practiced world-wide especially in Iran and India.
H-Bahai Home Page
Page includes links to Translations of Shaykhi, Babi and Baha'i Primary Texts, and a link to the Digital Library with sources in European languages.
The Internet Sacred Text Archive
A wide range of sacred texts are offered here, from the Bhagavad Gita to the Táin Bó Cúalnge, grouped under Eastern, Western, Traditional, and Esoteric.
Jainism: Principles, Traditions and Practices
Includes Jain texts.
The Sikhism Home Page
Sri Guru Granth Sahib (also known as the Adi Granth) is unique among the world's great scriptures. It is considered the Supreme Spiritual Authority and Head of the Sikh religion, rather than any living person.
more...less...
It is also the only scripture of its kind which not only contains the works of its own religious founders but also writings of people from other faiths.
The Virtual Beit Midrash
Using internet and email, Torah Web Yeshivah provides yeshiva style lessons in Torah and Judaism to students of all ages outside the Yeshiva walls.
World Wide Study Bible
Part of Wheaton College's Christian Classics Ethereal Library, provides links to resources related to particular books or portions of the Bible. From a contents page listing the books of the Bible, you can link to an overview of the book or commentaries.

General sites

BibleGateway.com - Over 50 online Bibles in 35 languages, in text and audio format.
A tool for reading and researching bible verses online in certain languages and translations. Advanced searching allows comparison of passages based on keywords, phrases or a specific reference.
Jewish Virtual Library
The Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is your source for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism. The JVL currently has more than 25,000 articles and 10,000 images and is accessed by users in more than 230 countries and territories worldwide.
Patheos: Balanced Views of Religion and Spirituality
This online community provides information about world religions, commentary on current events, and a place to "engage in the global dialogue about religion and spirituality."
Pew Research Center - Religion & Public Life
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions." Taken from Pew Research Center website, about section.
Pluralism Project - Selected Links
This is a project of the Committee on the Study of Religion, Harvard University. Although focused on religious communities in the Boston area, the links page provides many good starting points for religion information on the Web.
Religion & Ethics - Religions (BBC)
Brief introduction to many of the world's major religions with links to related British Broadcasting Corporation programming.
Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly-PBS
Read cutting edge news, transcripts of PBS television programs about religious and ethical issues occurring nationally and internationally.