Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th Century Jewelry and the Icons of Style by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7310 .P37 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
For many centuries the collecting of precious jewels was the preserve of kings and queens, emperors and maharajahs. But in the aftermath of the First World War, with the fall of several European monarchies, royal gems passed into the hands of a different kind of elite that included celebrities from the silver screen and a coterie which revelled in a new-rich social whirl.
Fauna: the art of jewelry by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7302.5 .F8 P37613 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
The animal kingdom has been a source of inspiration for jewelers since the days of antiquity. Chosen for their symbolism, their beauty or their personality, a whole menagerie of creatures has been depicted in gemstones and precious metals, ranging from fantastical dragons, griffins and sphinxes, to wild beasts such as boars and big cats, to the delicate forms of birds, fish and even insects.
Figures and Faces: the art of jewelry by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7302.5 .F8 P3713 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Jewelry has always been a vehicle for the deepest of human emotions: remembrance, faith, devotion, love, belonging, and mourning. The human figure has long been a source of inspiration and a means of expression for jewelers, and it is perhaps the most intimate and involving of subjects.
Jewelry for Gentlemen by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7305 .S54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
With its long and fascinating history, men's jewelry contains countless stories--behind each tiny piece often lies a complex narrative of patronage and craftsmanship. Hundreds of exquisite photographs, many specially commissioned, of rings, cufflinks, bracelets, and more, chart changing fashions and evolving attitudes to men's jewelry over the centuries.
Spectacular: gems and jewelry from the Merriweather Post collection by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7302 .W18 H557 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
The Merriweather Post collection offers an enthralling glimpse into one of the most remarkable, and intact, collections of jewelry ever amassed. There are exquisite pieces by Van Cleef and Arpels; numerous examples by Cartier; contemporary commissions from Harry Winston, George Headley, David Webb, and Fulco di Verdura, and historical pieces such as the Marie Louise Diadem, and the legendary earrings worn by Marie Antoinette on the eve of the French Revolution. Provides a critical perspective on developments in changing jewelry styles in America and Europe through one woman's unique collection.
Vogue: the Jewellery by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7304 .W6 2015
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
From couture to costume jewellery, the brilliant pieces featured on the pages of British Vogue for almost a century have encapsulated the fashion zeitgeist of each new age for which they were created. Adorning princesses and rock chicks alike, the jewels shown here reveal a dazzling array of styles and moods - from fairy-tale romance to Jazz-age glamour, sculptural modernism to timeless elegance.
Women Jewellery Designers by
Call Number: [HLC LIBRARY] NK7310 .L3 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
This sumptuous book showcases the work of women jewellers from around the world. It tells the story of influential women in the jewellery industry throughout the twentieth century, continuing to the present day.
Library Resources Quick Search
Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.
Where to find books and AV materials
Print books and AV titles on jewelry are shelved according to Library of Congress Classification and mostly (but not always!) located at the HLC library.
Check these areas on the shelves:
- E 78 S7 Native Americans of the Southwest
- E 98 Indians of North American - Jewelry
- NK 5000 Enameling
- NK 5525 Gemstones/Master Jewelers
- NK 6510 Color on metal, including enameling
- NK 6530 Chasing and repoussé
- NK 7100 Goldsmithing
- NK 7106 - NK 7230 Silver and silversmithing
- NK 7300 Jewelry history, ethnic jewelry, famous jewelers
- Nk 7400 - NK 7444 Jewelry from around the world
- NK 7480 - NK 7489 Wrist watches
- TS 545 - TS 547 Clock and watch repair
- TS 725 Goldsmithing, silversmithing, jewelry concepts, design and techniques
- TS 729 Wax casting, making hinges, jewelry engraving, die-forming, rubber mold cutting
- TS 730 Working with silver or platinum
- TS 740 Jewelry repair
- TS 753 Stone setting
- TS 755 Emeralds, opals, pearls
- TS 756 Jewelry workshop safety
- TT 205 Metal techniques, including textile techniques on metals
- TT 212 Design and crafting of jewelry
- TT 860 Findings, finishes and making metal beads
Why are some jewelry materials in the Ns and some in the Ts?
- The N section covers the design aspects of jewelry and includes books on the works of great jewelers while the T section covers the technical/how-to aspects of making jewelry.
Or you can search the library collection using keywords:
- Some good keywords to use are: jewelry, jeweler, goldsmith, silversmith, enameling, gem, watch, clock, gold, silver, platinum or precious metals.